Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > General Discussions > General Discussions > Chat

Chat Discussion, Really stupid questions thread! at General Discussions forum; I will start off. I am fairly new to CSing and i would like to ask: Why would someone choose ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Really stupid questions thread!
Old
  (#1)
supercatic4
Junior Member
 
supercatic4's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 413
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2010
Really stupid questions thread! - 02-October-2011, 20:40

I will start off.

I am fairly new to CSing and i would like to ask:

Why would someone choose to build a server for CS when you can just use a satellite reciever as the server?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
cold007
Super Moderator
 
cold007's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 9,448

Level: 63 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 314 / 1570
Magic: 3149 / 50421
Experience: 82%

Thanks: 5,191
Thanked 4,424 Times in 2,537 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: germany -unterfranken..
02-October-2011, 22:30

me i do.. for the basic reason...

why should i put the stress..on my 1000€..now (650€) DM 8000 reciever...

when i could let a 800mhz dinosaur... do everything...

also... i like to play with my box..new plugins..apps...images... etc...

my server runs 24/7/365... with no downtime..for playing,,

my reasons...

cold007


dreambox 8000- box with icvs images!!

remember u SPAM = i BAN

activley hunting nline stealers...!

beware...of with whom you share!!




   
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cold007 For This Useful Post:
Barney2222 (03-October-2011), Data7 (02-October-2011), kapzas (04-October-2011), supercatic4 (02-October-2011)
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
supercatic4
Junior Member
 
supercatic4's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 413
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2010
02-October-2011, 23:47

Thanks, now I understand. I have always tried to refrain from messing with images in case cccam goes bust.

I might as well continue this thread.

I have a 64bit Windows home server that is on 24/7 with 2 lan ports. I understand I can use a virtual machine to create a linux server and setup cccam.

Stupid question no. 2 - If I share from this server to my internal vu+ duo is this 1 hop?

Reason for asking if I am not permitted any reshares from peers then I can only view on the server.

Swiftly followed by silly question 3 - If I had a tuner card (BGT3600) in the server, would the virtual linux server be able to communicate to the windows server in order to recieve a picture? (assuming I had the right plugins running)

Once again many thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
steptoe
Junior Member
 
steptoe's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 13

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 34
Magic: 4 / 889
Experience: 38%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2009
03-October-2011, 08:09

yes you can run yourself a server with a pc, yes if you send it to vu duo it will be hop1. you can use pc server as just that though, (server only) and put all clines in duo but send your flines from local card which is in the server. you could also put the clines without reshare straight to the duo for your viewing only if you wish
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
supercatic4
Junior Member
 
supercatic4's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 413
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2010
03-October-2011, 10:11

Many thanks,

I think I may have to read your reply a few times to understand though.

I probably wont have any local cards yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
supercatic4
Junior Member
 
supercatic4's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 413
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2010
04-October-2011, 14:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercatic4 View Post
Swiftly followed by silly question 3 - If I had a tuner card (BGT3600) in the server, would the virtual linux server be able to communicate to the windows server in order to recieve a picture? (assuming I had the right plugins running)

Once again many thanks.
Anybody have any ideas on the above?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
wxop
Junior Member
 
wxop's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 14
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2011
05-October-2011, 06:00

Quote:
Originally Posted by supercatic4 View Post
I will start off.
Why would someone choose to build a server for CS when you can just use a satellite reciever as the server?
Server is supposed to be online 24/7/365 and could be ups bacluped, while your reciever could be shutdown (by your wife or kids)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
questions, stupid, thread!


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox