Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > General Discussions > General Satellite News > Latest Satellite News

Latest Satellite News Discussion, premiere to go nds? at General Satellite News forum; anyone heard the rumour?...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
premiere to go nds?
Old
  (#1)
godzilla
Donator
 
godzilla's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 678

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 567
Magic: 226 / 18370
Experience: 69%

Thanks: 195
Thanked 271 Times in 162 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2007
premiere to go nds? - 14-January-2008, 23:09

anyone heard the rumour?
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to godzilla For This Useful Post:
stonecold (29-January-2008)
Old
  (#2)
hsk
Member
 
hsk's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 31

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 82
Magic: 10 / 2687
Experience: 31%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Mar 2007
14-January-2008, 23:40

Yes, but nothing serious. Murdoch (Sky) bougt 15% of Premiere last week. This is the only fact.

Last edited by hsk; 14-January-2008 at 23:42..
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
godzilla
Donator
 
godzilla's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 678

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 567
Magic: 226 / 18370
Experience: 69%

Thanks: 195
Thanked 271 Times in 162 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2007
14-January-2008, 23:47

It would be a very big headache for all receivers to change to nds. but this was done in italia
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PLAN B
Special Friends
 
PLAN B's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,750

Level: 41 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 101 / 1017
Magic: 916 / 33156
Experience: 68%

Thanks: 373
Thanked 956 Times in 498 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: RG45 7EG
Age: 52
15-January-2008, 00:14

Taken from their web site:
" Premieres new receivers use the new middleware concept from NDS. The middleware can be easily integrated into the receiver by the manufacturer and considerably speeds up the introduction of new receivers and services since changes only have to be developed once and are then available across the entire platform. Using software updates, Premiere will be able to add additional functions to the receivers and adapt them step-by-step to keep up with technological advances."

So it would appear NDS have a foot in the door already, as with Sky italia it will be a costly excercise for them, lots of dark screens on the patched boxes.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Charly20
Super Moderator
 
Charly20's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3,404

Level: 45 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 110 / 1101
Magic: 1134 / 35847
Experience: 6%

Thanks: 2,493
Thanked 1,468 Times in 773 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: in the skies...
15-January-2008, 07:26

no, no the NDS middleware is only the ex-Mediahighway from Canal +, not the encryption.

This Mediahighway is only used for the new Premiere receivers with a IP return channel so that the box can speak back to Premiere.

Here is a press release when NDS and Premiere signed the contract:

http://www.pressebox.de/pressemeldun...xid-62275.html
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Charly20 For This Useful Post:
400sgbox (15-January-2008)
Old
  (#6)
hsk
Member
 
hsk's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 31

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 82
Magic: 10 / 2687
Experience: 31%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Mar 2007
15-January-2008, 13:30

And not all of these new "ip-boxes" can be changed to nds by software update. Most other receivers too. They would have to change mostly all receivers. But the money would stay in Murdochs company. So it is possible. Tonight a cable company (KabelBW) will change to nds. Some see this as a test for Premiere.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PLAN B
Special Friends
 
PLAN B's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,750

Level: 41 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 101 / 1017
Magic: 916 / 33156
Experience: 68%

Thanks: 373
Thanked 956 Times in 498 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: RG45 7EG
Age: 52
15-January-2008, 18:58

Taken from another site .
"Update apparently Premiere issued a statement today saying that will not not be moving to NDS but continue with Kudelski and probably employ Nagra3."


As I'd stated the cost of replacing 4 million stb's is prohibitive.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
jagatic
Junior Member
 
jagatic's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 20
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
24-January-2008, 22:14

I hope some cams for nagra 3 will appear in the future...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox