Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Plugins

Plugins Discussion, external hd on dm800 at DreamBox forum; i wonder if somebody allready tried out to play hd movies on an external hd treu usb . i have ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
external hd on dm800
Old
  (#1)
ehvwheelboy
Senior Member
 
ehvwheelboy's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 107

Level: 9 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 208
Magic: 35 / 4586
Experience: 35%

Thanks: 26
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: eindhoven
external hd on dm800 - 09-June-2008, 09:43

i wonder if somebody allready tried out to play hd movies on an external hd treu usb .

i have a lot of hd movies on my externl hd that now i watch treu my popcornhour a 100 . what i wanna know if somebody have tried it out ore know of a plugin that wil do so
   
Reply With Quote
External USB HDD on DM 800
Old
  (#2)
AmRhein
Junior Member
 
AmRhein's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 15

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 40
Magic: 5 / 804
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brussels
External USB HDD on DM 800 - 09-June-2008, 10:45

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehvwheelboy View Post
i wonder if somebody allready tried out to play hd movies on an external hd treu usb .

i have a lot of hd movies on my externl hd that now i watch treu my popcornhour a 100 . what i wanna know if somebody have tried it out ore know of a plugin that wil do so
Yes, I have done it with total success. I even wrote a little tutorial (in French) on this topic on another forum:
DreamUsers SatLinux Team, La Communaut :: Connexion
I'll be glad to translate it into English if anybody is interested...


DM 7000 S PVR WD 120 GB
DM 500 T
DM 800 HD (S) PVR Samsung 160 GB
37 PFL 9604 H
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
hollandd
Junior Member
 
hollandd's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 22

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 60
Magic: 7 / 1217
Experience: 41%

Thanks: 11
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Join Date: Dec 2007
09-June-2008, 12:53

AmRhein, many thanks. If you could translate it I think that would help many people.
thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Connecting a disk to the USB 2.0 port in order to record and play back
Old
  (#4)
AmRhein
Junior Member
 
AmRhein's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 15

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 40
Magic: 5 / 804
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brussels
Connecting a disk to the USB 2.0 port in order to record and play back - 09-June-2008, 14:33

Quote:
Originally Posted by hollandd View Post
If you could translate it I think that would help many people.
The DM 800 works VERY well with an external disk connected to its USB 2.0 port. At the end of the day, manipulations of the remote control are identical to those with an internal disk or an external disk connected to the eSATA port.

But, in order to get there, you must begin with a bit of tweaking. The following explanation supposes that you are capable of giving Unix/Linux line commands to a Dreambox (See other threads if necessary...)

Enigma 2 pre-supposes that the disk on which you intend to record (or read) movies be mounted on /media/hdd/ and that it itself contains a movie/ subdirectory.

If you already have an eSATA internal or external disk mounted on your DM 800, you must first unmount it:
Code:
umount /media/hdd
Then, you must mount the disk connected to the USB 2.0 port in its place:
Code:
mount /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /media/hdd
(Note that the disk seems to be on a SCSI bus, although this is NOT the case. It's a rather ordinary Linux trick to emulate a USB bus as a SCSI bus (via the driver) in order to simplify device access for the kernel.)

To make the mount command for your USB disk persistant through reboots, you must modify or add a line to the /etc/fstab file.
If there is already a line meant to mount an eSATA disk that you wish to replace with a USB disk, erase it. It looks like:
Code:
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /media/hdd auto defaults 0 0
In order to mount the USB disk at boot time, add the following line:
Code:
/dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /media/hdd auto defaults 0 0
The nuance is subtle, but makes a world of difference...


DM 7000 S PVR WD 120 GB
DM 500 T
DM 800 HD (S) PVR Samsung 160 GB
37 PFL 9604 H

Last edited by AmRhein; 09-June-2008 at 15:39..
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to AmRhein For This Useful Post:
Data7 (21-February-2010), ehvwheelboy (10-June-2008), IrishGuy (29-October-2008), kaffegutten (06-May-2009), kiko2004 (03-March-2010), KingVest (21-December-2008), sparaxin (06-May-2009)
Old
  (#5)
ehvwheelboy
Senior Member
 
ehvwheelboy's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 107

Level: 9 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 208
Magic: 35 / 4586
Experience: 35%

Thanks: 26
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: eindhoven
10-June-2008, 08:11

iam gonna try this out hope it works would me nice since i have 2 external hd but do you no what kond of movies it kan play divix mkv vob h264 x 264 vc1 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
onderduiker
Junior Member
 
onderduiker's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 2
Magic: 1 / 50
Experience: 10%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 46
17-June-2008, 15:24

I have a esata hd on my dm800 and it works verry wel too. Just plugin, format with the box and it acts like an intern hd :-)

Last edited by onderduiker; 17-June-2008 at 22:49..
   
Reply With Quote
DM800 extern harddrive
Old
  (#7)
skippie
Junior Member
 
skippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 17

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 46
Magic: 5 / 922
Experience: 86%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Leighton buzzard
Age: 56
DM800 extern harddrive - 17-June-2008, 18:51

somebody has tried to connect an eSata harddrive to the DM800 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
bora2
Mr. Maker
 
bora2's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 167

Level: 11 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 274
Magic: 55 / 5116
Experience: 96%

Thanks: 67
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2008
17-June-2008, 19:14

yes! i put the HDD in a Case from Evertech. Voltage works over USB.
It works fine!! as like as an internal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
isanico
Junior Member
 
isanico's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 13
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2007
08-July-2008, 08:40

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmRhein View Post
Yes, I have done it with total success. I even wrote a little tutorial (in French) on this topic on another forum:
DreamUsers SatLinux Team, La Communaut :: Connexion
I'll be glad to translate it into English if anybody is interested...
thanks oa lot my friend


Dreambox7000 Hdd40Gb
cccam2.04 gbox 2.25c

powersky 1500, xsat410
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
shitelit
Junior Member
 
shitelit's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 8
Magic: 1 / 155
Experience: 34%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2008
Age: 36
01-August-2008, 11:35

when i telnet the command line(exactly as written)
i get response:- failed no such file or directory!
also is it partl or part1 you type?
i was gona buy esata but no need if i can mount my usb
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dm800, external


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox