Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > VDR and Kaffeine

VDR and Kaffeine Discussion, HOWTO: Getting the HVR-4000 and NOVA-HD cards working in Linux using multiproto at Sharing receivers forum; i have a "adapter0" in my dev/dvb dir?...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#21)
Ventura900
Member
 
Ventura900's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 48

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 118
Magic: 16 / 3226
Experience: 75%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
13-September-2008, 02:23

i have a "adapter0" in my dev/dvb dir?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
shalafi
ECS Master
 
shalafi's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 412

Level: 18 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 446
Magic: 137 / 13606
Experience: 87%

Thanks: 127
Thanked 492 Times in 131 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2007
14-September-2008, 00:34

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ventura900 View Post
i have a "adapter0" in my dev/dvb dir?
Then it works ;) Congrats!

//Shalafi


-=[ Ubuntu Linux 9.04 | VDR 1.7.9 | HVR-4000 | eHD | Wavefield T55]=-
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shalafi For This Useful Post:
mark1832 (27-October-2008)
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#23)
krustykrab
Junior Member
 
krustykrab's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 37
Magic: 4 / 1021
Experience: 50%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Join Date: Aug 2008
17-September-2008, 21:13

One thing that you may like to add to this excellent HOWTO
I have managed to get my nova-s2 working under fedora 8 using it, but found that the sound card would not always initiate after a reboot.
After a bit of searching I found this in the v4l wiki

To make sure the sound card in the HVR-4000 does not grab card index 0 (instead of your motherboard or discrete sound card) add the following to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base (or wherever your distro sets alsa kernel module options):

# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options cx88_alsa index=-2

I added the line to /etc/modprobe.conf (in fedora) or I think it is /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base (in ubuntu)
And it is working perfectly now.
   
Reply With Quote
Dvb-t?
Old
  (#24)
austinprior
Junior Member
 
austinprior's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2008
Age: 37
Dvb-t? - 26-September-2008, 18:42

Thanks for a great How-to. Helped me get off the ground.

The HVR 4000 also has DVB-T capabilities. Will I be able to get those working alongside DVB-S and S2? I'd hate to have to buy another card for this purpose.

Any advice?

Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
sharp
Junior Member
 
sharp's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 595
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
30-September-2008, 14:00

Hello

I have an Twinhan SP400 card. I have struggled to make it works under Ubuntu quite a while but abandonned. I tryed with Mantis driver. Do you think I can use your tutorial for my card?

KR
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#26)
Plow
Junior Member
 
Plow's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 19
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2008
Smile 06-October-2008, 20:02

Great Guide. Keep up the Good work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#27)
mark1832
Banned as Payserver
 
mark1832's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 11
Magic: 2 / 315
Experience: 47%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Oct 2008
Age: 58
27-October-2008, 23:32

Very very good.... for the time being i installed the card quickly with little hassle.... I am going now to install with the help of your other guide, the ccam and vdr...

By the way i have 2 monitors... do you know something better than GTK+ ?

Please let me know if a better application is there to deal with two monitors.

Mark
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
named
Junior Member
 
named's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 22
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Nov 2006
01-January-2009, 20:54

Quote:
Originally Posted by austinprior View Post
Thanks for a great How-to. Helped me get off the ground.

The HVR 4000 also has DVB-T capabilities. Will I be able to get those working alongside DVB-S and S2? I'd hate to have to buy another card for this purpose.

Any advice?

Cheers
Up-to-date info can be found here: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-4000 - LinuxTVWiki. The s2-liplianin tree is good for tt-3200. For hvr4000 use the official v4l-dvb tree or the latest in-kernel drivers. Kernel 2.6.28-rc1 introduced support for multiple frontends. So both DVB-S/S2 and DVB-T work with the latest drivers. You cannot use them simultaneously due to hardware limitation. Just make sure that you don't have this in your module options:
Code:
options dvb-core dvb_shutdown_timeout=xx
This causes timeout erros with applications tryng to open/probe both frontends. Example - kaffeine. Since the first frontend (dvb-s/s2) won't be closed until after xx seconds have elapsed, the probe on the second one (dvb-t) will fail. Which effectively means that you won't be able to use dvb-t.

Last edited by named; 01-January-2009 at 21:51..
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to named For This Useful Post:
nnoel (04-January-2009)
thx
Old
  (#29)
nnoel
Junior Member
 
nnoel's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 5
Magic: 1 / 147
Experience: 21%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thumbs up thx - 04-January-2009, 00:13

It's ok for me with my hvr4000 and ubuntu 8.04.1 Linux 2.6.24-23-server #1 SMP

thx for this tuto
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#30)
sawjam
Junior Member
 
sawjam's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2009
13-January-2009, 22:32

Thank you so much I've been struggling for 6 days up till the early hours trying to get my HVR-4000 working (Wouldn't even work on my windows boot!) The latest v4l-dvb drivers simply don't work on my install. Ubuntu 8.10.
But liplianindvb work a treat
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cards, howto:, hvr-4000, linux, nova-hd, working


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox