Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > VDR and Kaffeine

VDR and Kaffeine Discussion, HOWTO: VDR 1.7.0, HDTV and CCcam with budget cards on Ubuntu 8.04 using S2API at Sharing receivers forum; @gloomy Did you unmute the HDMI through alsamixer (m button). Because if it's detected and you have no sound, it's ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
shalafi
ECS Master
 
shalafi's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 412

Level: 18 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 446
Magic: 137 / 13742
Experience: 87%

Thanks: 127
Thanked 492 Times in 131 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2007
11-March-2009, 19:10

@gloomy

Did you unmute the HDMI through alsamixer (m button). Because if it's detected and you have no sound, it's muted.

Just to be clear, I use the onboard sound since I've got an external amplifier.

@jackblow33

I saw that guide a while back, I thought it looked kinda familiar ;)

@xlinker

I got the latest SVN edition, and --enable-swscale is part of the configure options. ./configure --help should give you the overview of the options. If not, then something is wrong in your Linux configuration (check config.log).

//Shalafi


-=[ Ubuntu Linux 9.04 | VDR 1.7.9 | HVR-4000 | eHD | Wavefield T55]=-
   
Reply With Quote
Sound through HDMI
Old
  (#12)
gloomy
Linux-VDR Guru
 
gloomy's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 12

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 31
Magic: 4 / 813
Experience: 25%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States of Europe
Age: 48
Sound through HDMI - 12-March-2009, 16:47

I got it working by installing OSS by hand (Installing ALSA by hand still produced no sound)
Also NVIDIA driver had to be 177.82
(173.x and 180.x wouldnt work)

S2API did not install anymore after I moved to OSS
but multiproto have installed... I hope VDR still works despite no alsa

@shalafi yes, I ha HDMI unmuted, I just think at present alsa does not work with hdmi sound output on this motherboard, but OSS works fine

(12-March-2009 17:36)
ffmpeg is not downloading, probable the site is down.
I found a working snapshot here:
http://launchpadlibrarian.net/158781...080604.tar.bz2

Last edited by gloomy; 12-March-2009 at 19:24.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#13)
shalafi
ECS Master
 
shalafi's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 412

Level: 18 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 446
Magic: 137 / 13742
Experience: 87%

Thanks: 127
Thanked 492 Times in 131 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2007
13-March-2009, 21:10

Or use the following:

ffmpeg-svn.tar.gz - 6.24MB

xine-lib-1.2-svn.tar.gz - 61.03MB

//Shalafi


-=[ Ubuntu Linux 9.04 | VDR 1.7.9 | HVR-4000 | eHD | Wavefield T55]=-
   
Reply With Quote
cccam
Old
  (#14)
unclejoe01
Junior Member
 
unclejoe01's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 11
Magic: 2 / 313
Experience: 47%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Dec 2008
cccam - 14-March-2009, 14:38

which version of cccam are you using? could post the cccam from your guide? With the ones I use I always get "socket: select timed out (2 secs)", also using your preloader and scripts.

thanks
-joe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
cooler
Member
 
cooler's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 38

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 98
Magic: 12 / 3166
Experience: 94%

Thanks: 7
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
16-March-2009, 16:09

A simple question, and an easier suggestion, wont it be easy for those who are new or less experienced to use synaptic package manger to install all the needed plugins, and then modify or add whats need to get CCcam running?

This way everyone can enjoy with less hassle :)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
jackblow33
Junior Member
 
jackblow33's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 10

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 25
Magic: 3 / 658
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2009
17-March-2009, 20:34

Pre-packaged apps are not really good to learn to use linux. When you have learned how to compile and install you could use packages and save times.

Learning how to compile in Linux is mandatory if you would like to enjoy the power of Linux. Learn it you wont regret and should say goodbye to windblows soon.

You are lucky to have this guide here. I have use it and really have enjoyed.

Last edited by jackblow33; 17-March-2009 at 20:37.. Reason: forgot something
   
Reply With Quote
Remote lack of control inside VDR
Old
  (#17)
gloomy
Linux-VDR Guru
 
gloomy's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 12

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 31
Magic: 4 / 813
Experience: 25%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States of Europe
Age: 48
Remote lack of control inside VDR - 18-March-2009, 22:24

Thanks to OSS I managed to get things almost working, I can scan for channels, I can see signal and quality, the remote control that came with the nova S2HD works within mythbuntu 8.10 to do things in the command line and turn off the computer, but the remote does not work at all in vdr

It never prompts me to configure keys and if I create a remote.conf still no effect.

Anybody any ideas?

Correction: I managed to get vdr to prompt me to define remote control keys but then I press keys and they dont work. Somehow mythbuntu owns the remote control and does not share with VDR.

Google does not help, cant find any reference about vdr and mythbuntu

Last edited by gloomy; 18-March-2009 at 23:02..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
shalafi
ECS Master
 
shalafi's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 412

Level: 18 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 446
Magic: 137 / 13742
Experience: 87%

Thanks: 127
Thanked 492 Times in 131 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2007
18-March-2009, 22:31

Remove remote.conf and use the remote plugin with the /dev/input device. If you start this plugin you should be able to configure your remote.

//Shalafi


-=[ Ubuntu Linux 9.04 | VDR 1.7.9 | HVR-4000 | eHD | Wavefield T55]=-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
gloomy
Linux-VDR Guru
 
gloomy's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 12

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 31
Magic: 4 / 813
Experience: 25%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States of Europe
Age: 48
20-March-2009, 16:59

Everything but 2 things working now...

Everything now working except 8 keys on the remote are dead.
irrecord tells me it can't help with my remote and irw works with all except 8 keys, oh well I can leave with that.

If anybody is trying to get HDMI audio and has an Abit N78HD motherboard, my advise is forget about ALSA and go and install OSS you will save yourself a lot of misery and frustation

And the other thing that is not working is CCcam, only FTA, I will try again making sure only CCcam starts on boot, and vdr only manually and with the xine plugin.
My goal is to integrate vdr with oxine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
cooler
Member
 
cooler's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 38

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 98
Magic: 12 / 3166
Experience: 94%

Thanks: 7
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
21-March-2009, 00:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackblow33 View Post
Pre-packaged apps are not really good to learn to use linux. When you have learned how to compile and install you could use packages and save times.

Learning how to compile in Linux is mandatory if you would like to enjoy the power of Linux. Learn it you wont regret and should say goodbye to windblows soon.

You are lucky to have this guide here. I have use it and really have enjoyed.
That goes without saying of-curse, I was referring to total newbies, or people who would give up easily and miss out on this wonderful thing.

Thanks to Shalafi, I've seen other people use it to write tuts for different variations, and it also means no more rip-off from dream.

Anyhow the struggle goes on.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1.7.0, 8.04, budget, cards, cccam, hdtv, howto:, s2api, ubuntu


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox