Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Setting Dream

Setting Dream Discussion, CIFS on DM800 at DreamBox forum; Second problem solved, thanks for the advice, i thought i have to go in the media player but you are ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
ciudatelu
Banned as Payserver
 
ciudatelu's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 27

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 73
Magic: 9 / 1886
Experience: 93%

Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: May 2009
16-June-2009, 00:30

Second problem solved, thanks for the advice, i thought i have to go in the media player but you are right, it works directly by pressing the Video button on the remote and then OK on the recording i want to view.

As for the first problem (HD freezing) i beleive if I buy a HDD for the dm800 it would be ok, correct? Does it matter if the HDD is on ESATA or USB? I would prefer USB really... this way i can also use it for other stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 15165
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
16-June-2009, 00:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciudatelu View Post
Second problem solved, thanks for the advice, i thought i have to go in the media player but you are right, it works directly by pressing the Video button on the remote and then OK on the recording i want to view.

As for the first problem (HD freezing) i beleive if I buy a HDD for the dm800 it would be ok, correct? Does it matter if the HDD is on ESATA or USB? I would prefer USB really... this way i can also use it for other stuff.
Glad it worked.

You'd need to check the specs for your DM800 or preferably, look "under the bonnet". You might not have a SATA cable.

If you do have a PATA/SATA cable in place, I would tend to use these rather than USB...or ask around if people have had good results with USB drives on DM800's.
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#13)
ciudatelu
Banned as Payserver
 
ciudatelu's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 27

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 73
Magic: 9 / 1886
Experience: 93%

Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: May 2009
16-June-2009, 00:51

I can't really open it up, because the store put a seal on it and if I open it i lose the warranty... pretty stupid for a PVR that supports an internal hdd, huh? :)

But I do have an E-SATA connector on the back and I know there are some hdd racks in which you can put any hdd (IDE/SATA) and then connect the rack via E-SATA. This should be the same as internal i guess...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 15165
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
16-June-2009, 01:27

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciudatelu View Post
I can't really open it up, because the store put a seal on it and if I open it i lose the warranty... pretty stupid for a PVR that supports an internal hdd, huh? :)

But I do have an E-SATA connector on the back and I know there are some hdd racks in which you can put any hdd (IDE/SATA) and then connect the rack via E-SATA. This should be the same as internal i guess...
I think you lost the warranty when you flashed non-original firmware, did you not?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ciudatelu
Banned as Payserver
 
ciudatelu's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 27

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 73
Magic: 9 / 1886
Experience: 93%

Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: May 2009
17-June-2009, 09:39

No, I don't think so, it would be absurd because Dream Multimedia allows you to do this, they even give you the DreamUp tool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
netshare
Member
 
netshare's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 52

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 126
Magic: 17 / 3380
Experience: 5%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Dec 2008
17-June-2009, 12:08

if you dont have HDD in your dream, you can directly record on your XP pc.

create on pc HDD in C: folder hdd and movie
C:\hdd\movie
and share the folder hdd with option to modify

now connect with telnet to your d800 and enter this command

/bin/mount -t cifs //192.168.1.3/hdd /media/hdd -o username=guest,password=guest,rw,iocharset=utf8

change 192.168.1.3 to the IP of your PC
with XP you dont need to create user=guest, passsword=guest, its done by defaults.

now you can see recorded films in C:\hdd\movie by pressing the VIDEO button on your remote controll

hope this can help some users
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to netshare For This Useful Post:
ciudatelu (18-June-2009)
Old
  (#17)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 15165
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
17-June-2009, 13:18

Quote:
Originally Posted by ciudatelu View Post
No, I don't think so, it would be absurd because Dream Multimedia allows you to do this, they even give you the DreamUp tool.
So, hypothetically, if Gemini made an image targeted at genuine Dreamboxes to cause real damage and you used it, you could return your receiver to Dream or the re-seller for repair/replace?

(17-June-2009 15:32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciudatelu View Post
I can't really open it up, because the store put a seal on it and if I open it i lose the warranty... pretty stupid for a PVR that supports an internal hdd, huh? :)

But I do have an E-SATA connector on the back and I know there are some hdd racks in which you can put any hdd (IDE/SATA) and then connect the rack via E-SATA. This should be the same as internal i guess...
Dream also tells you how to open the box to install the drive:

http://www.dream-multimedia-tv.de/do...l_dm800_hd.pdf

Check page 43...

Your "Do Not Tamper" seal is probably done by the reseller. If it is from Dream, then you're right - giving someone explicit and detailed instructions on just how to void the warranty is absurd.

Last edited by Markoni; 17-June-2009 at 16:36.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Markoni For This Useful Post:
ciudatelu (18-June-2009)
Old
  (#18)
lev_una77
Junior Member
 
lev_una77's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 10

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 25
Magic: 3 / 633
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2009
25-June-2009, 18:37

Very good tutorial, thank you guys!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
IndiaDawn
Permanent Banned
 
IndiaDawn's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 21

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 57
Magic: 7 / 1500
Experience: 31%

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2009
20-December-2009, 08:50

Hello all
I have done setup for automount CIFS according to this.
Code:
Automount CIFS on DM800:

Blue-Panel
Extras/Setings
Automount Editor

Add (green buton)

Mountpoint: Directory
Type: cifs
Options: rw,soft,udp,nolock
Username: user (example: db)
Password: pass (example: dreambox)
Bufer Size: rsize=8192,wsize=8192
server: ip of your pc (example: 192.168.1.123)
Share: folder that you want to share on PC (example: /FUN)
but when I tried to record then recording not started and this message come...



Pls help me to sort out this problem

thanks

Last edited by IndiaDawn; 20-December-2009 at 08:53..
   
Reply With Quote
wanna record a hd movie
Old
  (#20)
edensan
Junior Member
 
edensan's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 431
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Feb 2010
Question wanna record a hd movie - 03-March-2010, 13:00

Hi guy's,

I did follow this tuturial and so far so good.. i did record actualy some film fragments to my win7 pc (cifs) but now i wanna try to record a hd channel and there are files recorded into my win7 map but when i try to play them mediaplayer start for 2 seconds and then stops...

is the datarate to big for network?
or am i doing something wrong?

i did set up cifs like explained here...

thx in advance greetz edensan


DB 800 HD PVR
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cifs, dm800


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox