Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Setting Dream

Setting Dream Discussion, Dreambox 500 + Movie Player streaming issues at DreamBox forum; Originally Posted by freedream22 Check the format of the media you want to play! Maybe it needs to be transcoded. ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
Bluevenom
Junior Member
 
Bluevenom's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 15
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: May 2009
23-August-2010, 14:49

Quote:
Originally Posted by freedream22 View Post
Check the format of the media you want to play! Maybe it needs to be transcoded. At PLI website you can see how to do it.

cheers!

The format is AVI/XVID...
Does it need to be transcoded? If so how do i do that?

Also what is the Frame Rate i should be using for NTSC? 25 or 30?
   
Old
  (#12)
cold007
Super Moderator
 
cold007's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 9,448

Level: 63 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 471 / 1570
Magic: 3149 / 44184
Experience: 82%

Thanks: 5,182
Thanked 4,420 Times in 2,538 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: germany -unterfranken..
23-August-2010, 15:04

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluevenom View Post
Th
############
you forgot to

!!
...

unfortunatly...rule 5# broken,,with this quoted post..

its about time u visit the introduction section...

tutorials

when this prewarning goes ignored..warning will follow.

cold007


dreambox 8000- box with icvs images!!

remember u SPAM = i BAN

activley hunting nline stealers...!

beware...of with whom you share!!




   
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#13)
freedream22
ECS Master
 
freedream22's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 667

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 563
Magic: 222 / 12760
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 49
Thanked 184 Times in 134 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 28
23-August-2010, 16:38

Hi guys,
Maybe I was not clear in my previous post,so I'd like to clarify something related with movieplayer plugin of PLI image.
First it it plays only mpeg format,which means that for other video codecs you should use vlc as trancoder tool. If you go starting reading this thread from the beginning you may find how to do that otherwise go to PLI website to find how.
One thing that you have to count is that the stable PLI image has some problems with that plugin,so its better try it with daily updated images from here.

Cheers!
   
Old
  (#14)
dj_taz7
Junior Member
 
dj_taz7's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 23

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 63
Magic: 7 / 1859
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
23-August-2010, 21:28

Hi, i dont want to be a burden but its not working for me. I went to the page
h*://www.pli-images.org/modules/wiki/index.php?wakka=E1MoviePlayer

It says the Movie player will allow you to playback many different video file formats from any computer that will run the VLC application, direct to your TV. So you can now do this from the comfort of your lounge chair with your DM remote control, without the need to convert, transcode or otherwise play with the computer before you sit down to watch a movie.

I believe this includes .avi files. So i follow the directions exactly as written. I can see my directory on the computer and i can choose an .avi file. When i choose one I get a message buffering finished 0% for two seconds and then nothing. I try with different .avi files and always the same.

Also in the example in the pli site i shows that it plays avi files.

Does anyone has a solution for this problem?
   
Old
  (#15)
freedream22
ECS Master
 
freedream22's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 667

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 563
Magic: 222 / 12760
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 49
Thanked 184 Times in 134 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 28
24-August-2010, 21:03

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_taz7 View Post
Hi, i dont want to be a burden but its not working for me. I went to the page
h*://www.pli-images.org/modules/wiki/index.php?wakka=E1MoviePlayer

It says the Movie player will allow you to playback many different video file formats from any computer that will run the VLC application, direct to your TV. So you can now do this from the comfort of your lounge chair with your DM remote control, without the need to convert, transcode or otherwise play with the computer before you sit down to watch a movie.

I believe this includes .avi files. So i follow the directions exactly as written. I can see my directory on the computer and i can choose an .avi file. When i choose one I get a message buffering finished 0% for two seconds and then nothing. I try with different .avi files and always the same.

Also in the example in the pli site i shows that it plays avi files.

Does anyone has a solution for this problem?
I'm reposting what I followed to make mvplayer working.
First make sure you flashed with daily fresh images (look on my previous post).
The stable images for dm500s on PLI site do not perform well on streaming !
If you want to play .avi format you need vlc to decode the media. Dm500 can play only mpeg(1,2) format.
Install Vlc player in your PC and to modify its shortcut by adding --extraint=http at the end:
The target of the shortuct should look like this:

C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" --extraint=http
After this,open the webif page of PLi image and follow the instructions:
for VLC:
h*://www.pli-images.org/modules/wiki/index.php?wakka=E1MoviePlayer
and for mounting your PC hard drive:
h*://www.pli-images.org/modules/wiki/index.php?wakka=E1Mount

Make sure also that you open the firewall for the VLC. If you have installed also symantec you need to allow the traffic in its embedded firewall.

cheers!
   
Old
  (#16)
dj_taz7
Junior Member
 
dj_taz7's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 23

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 63
Magic: 7 / 1859
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
28-August-2010, 09:31

Thanks for the info. But the thing i keep saying is that i follow the instructions exactly as you say.

I use daily image, changed the target, configure both vlc and mount instructions but i get a specific error.

I see the directory with the movies from the pc. I choose a movie I get a message that it has started buffering. The movie starts playing on the pc but it doesnt stream on the dreambox. This happens every time and with all the movies i have on the directory.

I also tried various versions of vlc and still the same problem.

So, has anyone come across this specific problem and knows how to solve it? Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
   
Old
  (#17)
freedream22
ECS Master
 
freedream22's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 667

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 563
Magic: 222 / 12760
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 49
Thanked 184 Times in 134 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 28
28-August-2010, 11:58

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_taz7 View Post
Thanks for the info. But the thing i keep saying is that i follow the instructions exactly as you say.

I use daily image, changed the target, configure both vlc and mount instructions but i get a specific error.

I see the directory with the movies from the pc. I choose a movie I get a message that it has started buffering. The movie starts playing on the pc but it doesnt stream on the dreambox. This happens every time and with all the movies i have on the directory.

I also tried various versions of vlc and still the same problem.

So, has anyone come across this specific problem and knows how to solve it? Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
First make sure that you disabled the firewall.
If you have any symantec installed try disable it !
Make sure that you enabled transcoding on the webinterface of pli.
What media connect your PC with dm, e.g is ethernet cable or wireless ?

If you fail again I can help you remotely with teamviewer .

cheers!
   
Old
  (#18)
dj_taz7
Junior Member
 
dj_taz7's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 23

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 63
Magic: 7 / 1859
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
28-August-2010, 15:31

I tried them but still nothing. The problem is that the movie doesnt stream to the dreambox.
i am connected through ethernet.

I thing i will stop trying and watch the movies on my pc. Sorry but i dont trust anyone connected remotely on my pc. Nothing personal. Thanks for the help.
   
Old
  (#19)
dj_taz7
Junior Member
 
dj_taz7's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 23

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 63
Magic: 7 / 1859
Experience: 52%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
02-September-2010, 11:54

Hi everyone. I havent solved the problem with movie player but i found a way to watch my movies through the dreambox.
I convert my movie to mpeg2 format using winavi converter. It takes about 15 minutes.
You mount your pc hard drive to your dreambox and you play the movie by choosing it through file mode. No need for vlc.
   
Old
  (#20)
steeegraham
Junior Member
 
steeegraham's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 5
Magic: 1 / 100
Experience: 21%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Aug 2010
10-December-2011, 18:44

some versions of vlc don't work for me with movie player, one that does work for me is 1.1.7. Don't forget to turn on web interface (although you can't actually see your files if you don't on the dm)
I think the pli image also matters, I use an openpli beta image which I find great.
hope this helps for people still struggling with movieplayer and vlc
   
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
500, dm500, movie player, movieplayer, network, stream, vlc, vlcf


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox