Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Setting Dream

Setting Dream Discussion, SQlite / Radio Times EPG Issues - Help Please! at DreamBox forum; Hi All, I have a dreambox 500s with a network mount to an external hard drive which all seems to ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
SQlite / Radio Times EPG Issues - Help Please!
Old
  (#1)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3395
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
SQlite / Radio Times EPG Issues - Help Please! - 17-July-2010, 22:46

Hi All,

I have a dreambox 500s with a network mount to an external hard drive which all seems to work well.

I have followed all the tutorials I can find and installed SQLite EPG plugin, set it to work with my network mount, set up Radio Times for 7 days, mapped my channels etc etc.

The first time everything worked fine and I had 7 seven days EPG, however since that ended I am only getting EPG data for certain channels (BBC1, Channel4, but not BBC, Sky Sports, ITV etc.)

Does anyone know why this happens?

Hope you can help.

Driver8.


Driver8
Dreambox 500s, NAS network mount, Fixed 28.2 dish
Still a lot to learn....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
balderdash
Member
 
balderdash's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 60

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 140
Magic: 20 / 3351
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 16
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2010
17-July-2010, 22:55

Have you set it to auto update the epg every 7 days?
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3395
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
18-July-2010, 10:01

Hi, Yes - set it to update everyday at 06:00 hrs, but it never does...

I have tried uninstaling all the plugins and then re-installing but the same thing happens.

The channels that I had previously mapped to remain mapped even after uninnstall/re-install... I would really like to re-do all this also.

Using Plu Jade Max Var by the way.

Any ideas?


Driver8
Dreambox 500s, NAS network mount, Fixed 28.2 dish
Still a lot to learn....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
balderdash
Member
 
balderdash's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 60

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 140
Magic: 20 / 3351
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 16
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2010
18-July-2010, 14:32

Ok heres the way I have mine setup with thanks to a friend of mine,PaphosAL.


Quote:
Just go into the EPG Plugin and with 'RadioTimes UK' as the selected source, ensure that the mount point Server Directory fields are correct, set your download time for 06 00 and TICK the 'Use Cron' box- and Save.

Now use a decent text editor like Notepad++ (freeware) to edit the root file under var/spool/cron/crontabs that's just been created.

Insert this line above the one that's already there, the one starting with 0 06 (= 6.00am)

55 05 * * * rm -f /media/hdd/epg.* ; rm -f /tmp/.enigma ; reboot

Note that I've improved the syntax in that line now. All you need to check is that /media/hdd/ really IS the path on your server where epg.db lives, and edit it accordingly. The EPG Plugin tells you the path, plus you can FTP into the /media folder and 'see' epg.db in one of the sub-folders!!


Also make sure that cron is enabled in Menu-Setup-System Settings-Services to run.

Basically this will delete your epg database and reboot the box then 5 mins later it will retrieve your new 7 days epg.
Hope that helps m8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3395
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
18-July-2010, 21:32

Will give it a go and let you know mate - if it works you will be my new hero as getting this epg to work is killing me!


Driver8
Dreambox 500s, NAS network mount, Fixed 28.2 dish
Still a lot to learn....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
balderdash
Member
 
balderdash's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 60

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 140
Magic: 20 / 3351
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 16
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2010
19-July-2010, 21:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by Driver8 View Post
Will give it a go and let you know mate - if it works you will be my new hero as getting this epg to work is killing me!
Please do lets know m8,

oh and also make sure in Menu-System Settings-EPG its set to SQLite epg and not Enigma and save on the way out :)
   
Reply With Quote
Hmm Confusing
Old
  (#7)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3395
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hmm Confusing - 22-July-2010, 11:06

Hello mate, tried that line, but didn't seem to make any difference I'm afraid. Interestingly in the var/spool/cron/crontabs root file there must have been about 12 lines beginning with the 0 06 (is this strange as you mentioned there would only be one).

I put your line at the very top.

One other thing that may be causing a problem with the cron is that my machine does not re-boot. It just seems to crash half way until I switch off then switch back on again.

So I tried (for the 24th time) uninstalling everything, then re-installing again.

Last night it again allowed me to download most of the Radio Times EPG (though a few mapped channels still missing) but I'm a bit happier...
I'm starting to wonder if it is just the inconsistancy of the SQlite/Radio times downloads..

SQlite database is set up and saved pointing at my network mount device
EPG files are stored under /media/hdd/ as you describe.

Should my network mount also have subdirectories called /media/hdd/?
At the moment I think it is just using the root directory of the mount to strore data.

I don't know mate - the fun of the dreambox (or nightmarebox sometimes).


Driver8
Dreambox 500s, NAS network mount, Fixed 28.2 dish
Still a lot to learn....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
balderdash
Member
 
balderdash's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 60

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 140
Magic: 20 / 3351
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 16
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2010
22-July-2010, 13:11

The other lines are for the other epg lists,if you highlight them in the same way you do the Radio times one,then just untick the cron box for each one bar the Radio times one,

It could be that that causing your box to stall as its trying to access to much info etc.

If it was me I would start from scratch,backup your bouquets and services etc,
then download the latest OpenPli image and reinstall everything again but make sure that there is only the one cron line in root plus the reboot one,

I presume you are downloading the correct plugins i.e. SQLite plugin and the Rytec xml plugin?

Then just follow all the instruction from the first to last post :)

Heres hoping ;)

EDIT:Before you add anything to the newly downloaded image just make sure it will reboot properly first using the menu ;)
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to balderdash For This Useful Post:
Driver8 (22-July-2010)
Old
  (#9)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3395
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
26-July-2010, 12:57

Thanks for the help mate. From what I've read it seems the whole EPG thing seems to work better on OpenPli that PLi Jade which I am using.. so will probably do this eventually.

Just so frustrating as I probably have 60/70% of the channel EPGs that I mapped coming through fine.

Just the other 30% that don't come through that are driving me mad!

The missus said I have to give up as she's sick of seeing the EPG screen and she will buy me a TV weekly!


Driver8
Dreambox 500s, NAS network mount, Fixed 28.2 dish
Still a lot to learn....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
balderdash
Member
 
balderdash's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 60

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 140
Magic: 20 / 3351
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 16
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2010
27-July-2010, 13:51

No problem m8,lets know if you need anymore help :)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
issues, please!, radio, sqlite, times


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox