Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Tutorials

Tutorials Discussion, How to change Dreambox FTP and Telnet ports at DreamBox forum; 1. go to VAR/ETC 2. open file services and edit line ftp 21/tcp in my case i changed port 21 ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
How to change Dreambox FTP and Telnet ports
Old
  (#1)
maxtor
Member
 
maxtor's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 76

Level: 7 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 166
Magic: 25 / 5481
Experience: 65%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
How to change Dreambox FTP and Telnet ports - 05-June-2013, 11:42

1. go to VAR/ETC

2. open file services and edit line

ftp 21/tcp

in my case i changed port 21 to 7021

ftp 7021/tcp


3. save and close file

4. now open file vsftpd.conf and paste these lines

listen_port=7021
pasv_address=
pasv_min_port=7020
pasv_max_port=7025


5. save file and close

6. After editing the files using telnet run this command

/etc/init.d/vsftpd restart


if you need to access your dreambox from remote location go to your router firewall settings and open port range 7020-7025

7. reboot your Dreambox and using Filezilla connect using ftp port 7021

8. go to /var/etc edit services file and change telnet port

telnet 7023/tcp

save and reboot

Please apply these settings only if you know what you are doing otherwise you will need to flash your box using Dreamup since factory reset will not revert to default ports or you can use "vi" commands to edit files to default ports.

For your safety it is highly recommended to change the following tcp ports

ftp-data 7020/tcp
ftp 7021/tcp

fsp 21/udp fspd
ssh 7022/tcp # SSH Remote Login Protocol
ssh 22/udp
telnet 7023/tcp


DM7020HD, VU+SOLO2
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to maxtor For This Useful Post:
DREAMBOX45 (07-January-2014), skymania (05-June-2013), twerty (05-June-2013)
Old
  (#2)
maxtor
Member
 
maxtor's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 76

Level: 7 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 166
Magic: 25 / 5481
Experience: 65%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
05-June-2013, 16:11

Quote:
Originally Posted by twerty View Post
this post can come handy soon.
yes it is very important to change ftp ports from default to any other and you can use any ports like 1234, 2587 or any other combination.
The combination of ports in the post is only a sample but you must make any other secret port combination to keep it safe.

(05-June-2013 17:26)
I received PM from some members who asked me about pasv_address=
on pasv_address= ( do not put any ip here , just leave it blank like in the sample )


DM7020HD, VU+SOLO2

Last edited by maxtor; 05-June-2013 at 16:26.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
des bishop
Junior Member
 
des bishop's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 11
Magic: 2 / 201
Experience: 47%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2012
05-June-2013, 21:53

They can still port scan your box if all its ports are open on the network, although this does help changing your password is defiantly more important than doing this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
maxtor
Member
 
maxtor's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 76

Level: 7 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 166
Magic: 25 / 5481
Experience: 65%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
05-June-2013, 22:52

Quote:
Originally Posted by des bishop View Post
They can still port scan your box if all its ports are open on the network, although this does help changing your password is defiantly more important than doing this.
Oh yes of course password is main thing you need to do but that will not help remember
The safest way is close all ports and change password.


DM7020HD, VU+SOLO2
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
vince
Mmmm beer!
 
vince's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 134

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 240
Magic: 44 / 7864
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 7
Thanked 38 Times in 18 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2007
06-June-2013, 07:17

Given that you have a router, you can also use NAT to map different ports on the outside (WAN) to the inside (LAN).

For example:

From 22222 (WAN) to 22 (LAN)

Easy as pie! :)


My ECS values:
1. I don't share with VPS servers;
2. I prefer that you actually read my posts prior to sending me a PM!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
hbinded
Junior Member
 
hbinded's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 18
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Oct 2008
29-June-2013, 15:51

anyone got specific instructions for a fritz 7170??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
hak06
Member
 
hak06's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 68

Level: 7 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 153
Magic: 22 / 4358
Experience: 15%

Thanks: 22
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 43
04-January-2014, 04:39

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxtor View Post
1. go to VAR/ETC

2. open file services and edit line

ftp 21/tcp

in my case i changed port 21 to 7021

ftp 7021/tcp


3. save and close file

4. now open file vsftpd.conf and paste these lines

listen_port=7021
pasv_address=
pasv_min_port=7020
pasv_max_port=7025


5. save file and close

6. After editing the files using telnet run this command

/etc/init.d/vsftpd restart


if you need to access your dreambox from remote location go to your router firewall settings and open port range 7020-7025

7. reboot your Dreambox and using Filezilla connect using ftp port 7021

8. go to /var/etc edit services file and change telnet port

telnet 7023/tcp

save and reboot

Please apply these settings only if you know what you are doing otherwise you will need to flash your box using Dreamup since factory reset will not revert to default ports or you can use "vi" commands to edit files to default ports.

For your safety it is highly recommended to change the following tcp ports

ftp-data 7020/tcp
ftp 7021/tcp

fsp 21/udp fspd
ssh 7022/tcp # SSH Remote Login Protocol
ssh 22/udp
telnet 7023/tcp
hi i went to var/etc using DCC but i cannot locate file services.its not there. any suggestion?

also how does one close all the port?

i got dm800se, openpli 4.0 image
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox