Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Tutorials

Tutorials Discussion, Is it possible to change user:root ? at DreamBox forum; Is it possible to change user:root in Enigma2 ? The telnet command ?...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Is it possible to change user:root ?
Old
  (#1)
ddream0
Permanent Banned
 
ddream0's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 60

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 140
Magic: 20 / 2977
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2011
Is it possible to change user:root ? - 07-March-2011, 14:22

Is it possible to change user:root in Enigma2 ?

The telnet command ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
ares8
Permanent Banned
 
ares8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 2
Magic: 1 / 69
Experience: 10%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2009
07-March-2011, 16:31

Yes
I see on forum, but I don t remember.
:-(
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
sleepy1958
Senior Member
 
sleepy1958's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 108

Level: 9 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 210
Magic: 36 / 4929
Experience: 40%

Thanks: 57
Thanked 45 Times in 34 Posts
Join Date: May 2010
07-March-2011, 18:10

There is a large thread on this subject found by using the search function.

http://www.eurocardsharing.com/f30/c...word-now-16857
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sleepy1958 For This Useful Post:
Bacteria (07-March-2011)
Old
  (#4)
hpl1950
Member
 
hpl1950's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 52

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 126
Magic: 17 / 3189
Experience: 5%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thumbs down 10-March-2011, 19:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepy1958 View Post
There is a large thread on this subject found by using the search function.

http://www.eurocardsharing.com/f30/c...word-now-16857
ddream0 asked for changing name "root", not for changing password of DM
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hpl1950 For This Useful Post:
dabs (10-March-2011)
Old
  (#5)
malakas
Member
 
malakas's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 53

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 128
Magic: 17 / 3931
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 15
Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2007
10-March-2011, 22:52

use the adduser command to add a new user, use passwd while connected as root to define a new password for root and when logged in as user you can use the su command to elevate. Test that you can log in as normal user and elevate yourself before creating an empty file to /etc/securetty. The empty securetty will block telnet connections from root.
if you lock yourself because of this, you can remove the securetty file from ftp... You can also limit the root connections to 1 if you write pts/0 in the securetty file. In this case, the first login can be root but only the first one...other connections can be made as other users...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
change, user:root


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox