Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Tutorials

Tutorials Discussion, Reboot and sleep (Gemini 4.6) at DreamBox forum; Wanted to make daily reboot of my box 7020si and put it on standby afterwards. This should work on all ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Reboot and sleep (Gemini 4.6)
Old
  (#1)
I'm Weesel
Permanent Banned
 
I'm Weesel's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 62

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 143
Magic: 20 / 3729
Experience: 75%

Thanks: 18
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 42
Reboot and sleep (Gemini 4.6) - 27-June-2009, 16:56

Wanted to make daily reboot of my box 7020si and put it on standby afterwards. This should work on all Geminis
Have read numerious threads and here's all at one place
Thanks to all for help, hints and threads

Here how I've solved my 'issue' using built in 'Crond' and Timers funktion, since I'm not hardcore scripter :)

1. Open notepad
2. Insert this linie in notepad (without quotes - this example will reboot at 05:20) " 20 05 * * * reboot > /dev/null 2>&1 & "

Syntax (insert numbers instead of star):
# +---------------- minute (0 - 59)
# | +------------- hour (0 - 23)
# | | +---------- day of month (1 - 31)
# | | | +------- month (1 - 12)
# | | | | +---- day of week (0 - 7) (Sunday=0 or 7)
# | | | | |
# * * * * * command to be executed
# ------------------------------------------------------------------
# * * * * * reboot > /dev/null 2>&1 &

3. Save file somewhere on your pc as 'root' (without extenions!)
4. FTP you box
5. go to /etc/cron/crontabs
6. upload created file 'root' to this location
7. disconnect FTP
8. on your Dreambox remote press Blue Button (once)
9. Press 5 - Service / Daemons
10. Activate Crond

Reboot done

Sleep - lets asume you reboot at 5:20AM

11. on your Dreambox remote press menu
12. go to 'Timers'
13. press 'Green button' to create new event
14. Name event what you wish
15. Choose 'repeat event'
16. from pull down menu choose 'standby'
17. choose all weekdays
18. enter start time 05:21 and end time 05:22 (or whatever time that suits you)
19. Press 'Green button' when done
20. reboot your box

You can verify in timers that sleep event is listed and also in Crond 'setup' that reboot is listed :)

Now I had additional problem. My LCD wakes up when it get pulse from Dreambox.. The result was my LCD was ON every damn morning :p

Sollution: Buy a timer device for you outlet and turn off the power to you TV - lets say 5min before reboot and 5 min after sleep.

Last edited by I'm Weesel; 27-June-2009 at 17:00..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
moljac
Banned
 
moljac's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 9

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 21
Magic: 3 / 552
Experience: 86%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 29
28-June-2009, 18:05

Is this work with DM500????
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
I'm Weesel
Permanent Banned
 
I'm Weesel's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 62

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 143
Magic: 20 / 3729
Experience: 75%

Thanks: 18
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 42
29-June-2009, 00:18

Quote:
Originally Posted by moljac View Post
Is this work with DM500????
I guess so :) Try it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
caszw
Member
 
caszw's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 34

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 89
Magic: 11 / 2250
Experience: 59%

Thanks: 12
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: May 2009
02-July-2009, 22:32

Hi there,
maybe a silly question but what is the reason to make a reboot every day?
cheers/Cas
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14866
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
02-July-2009, 22:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by caszw View Post
Hi there,
maybe a silly question but what is the reason to make a reboot every day?
cheers/Cas
It's not a silly question. I wonder about it myself. People seem intent upon doing it, though.

I find the receiver works better without rebooting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
caszw
Member
 
caszw's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 34

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 89
Magic: 11 / 2250
Experience: 59%

Thanks: 12
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: May 2009
03-July-2009, 21:07

yes but sometimes I've problems with my ccam 2.1.1, I mean some clients can not see me or I can not 'use' my servers, so I make a reboot myself once a week, but after an auto reboot I got more problems...like that the ccam not starts like it should be..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markoni View Post
It's not a silly question. I wonder about it myself. People seem intent upon doing it, though.

I find the receiver works better without rebooting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14866
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
04-July-2009, 00:28

Quote:
Originally Posted by caszw View Post
yes but sometimes I've problems with my ccam 2.1.1, I mean some clients can not see me or I can not 'use' my servers, so I make a reboot myself once a week, but after an auto reboot I got more problems...like that the ccam not starts like it should be..
Reboot via crontabs cgi-bin and button control should be entirely equivalent. Reboot via crontabs reboot command should be equivalent to telnet reboot. This does not necessarily mean button-control reboot is equivalent to telnet reboot.

As I wrote somewhere else, you must run a log to see what exactly is happening when you reboot, go to standby, or do anything else that gives you trouble.

A once-per-week reboot sounds more or less reasonable for set-top-boxes. The image firmwares are not perfect and processes get started without stopping properly. Reboots here are a really just a quick safeguard against image firmware or addons bugs.

If you log run a log, you should not see very much interesting from Enigma except at startup. You should not see any Enigma errors. If you do, you can try to track down the source. CCcam will log continuously. If you see any CCcam errors, ask yourself why these are happening.

Your clients not seeing you and you not being able to use shares sounds like a CCcam problem: You have too many shares open, too many bad shares, too many clients, too many illegal logins, you're logging CCcam to var on your flash and it's getting full - the list goes on and on. Neither of us will know if these are really problems without some sort of log.

You should be able to cut your reboots down as much as you like. Ordinarily, they should never be required. If they are, something else is wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
caszw
Member
 
caszw's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 34

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 89
Magic: 11 / 2250
Experience: 59%

Thanks: 12
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: May 2009
04-July-2009, 22:58

thanks for your reply, really good information, but I have some Q.s:

-where do I find the ccam log file?
-what is the maximum (or workable) of F and C lines in my cgf (dm8000)


cheers/Caszw
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14866
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
05-July-2009, 14:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by caszw View Post
thanks for your reply, really good information, but I have some Q.s:

-where do I find the ccam log file?
If you use telnet CCcam_2.1.1 -d to start the log, the answer is "on your computer screen".

You can also use telnet CCcam_2.1.1 -d > {writeable_directory}/log.txt

Otherwise it depends on your image firmware.

Check your image firmware documentation for how to start syslogd and where the log output should be written. Set the system log directory (flash is not a good place for this if you are logging for a long time) and start the system log.

Next, uncomment or add DEBUG : yes in CCcam.cfg

Debug information from CCcam should now appear in your system log in the location you set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by caszw View Post
-what is the maximum (or workable) of F and C lines in my cgf (dm8000)
That question has been discussed many times in many threads on this forum.

In brief, it does not matter how many C: and F: lines you have, within reason (see below). The number of shares you have online affects how well or poorly CCcam works to decrypt channels for you and your clients. The number of active shares, I think, should never exceed 1000 on a set-top-box. A reliable number is 200-300 active shares.

Remember that the length of CCcam.cfg determines how quickly it is read. 2500 C & F line pairs, for example, is just too many. Average users would never approach this number. Usually, the number of peers one has is no more than 50. You can have trouble with 5 peers if you have things set up so that these 5 peers give you 6000 shares. On the other hand, you can set things up so 50 peers only give you 200 very reliable shares and you will never have trouble.

Last edited by Markoni; 05-July-2009 at 15:18..
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Markoni For This Useful Post:
caszw (05-July-2009), deskag (28-July-2009), I'm Weesel (06-July-2009)
Old
  (#10)
I'm Weesel
Permanent Banned
 
I'm Weesel's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 62

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 143
Magic: 20 / 3729
Experience: 75%

Thanks: 18
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 42
06-July-2009, 05:31

Nice explanation :)

Well I do reboots to avoid lock up.. well maybe to many share , maybe not..

BUT the main reason.. if I'm away for some days..the box should never be down for more that max 24H :)

You can set your own scheme.. once a day its just an example
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
(gemini, 4.6), reboot, sleep


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox