Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Tutorials

Tutorials Discussion, Tutorial: Configuration of Network on Dreambox at DreamBox forum; To make connection between your PC and Dreambox you need to make some changes on both sides. To configure Network ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Tutorial: Configuration of Network on Dreambox
Old
  (#1)
Bacteria
Administrator
 
Bacteria's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 96,015

Level: 124 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 4638 / 4638
Magic: 32005 / 100845
Experience: 68%

Thanks: 1,107
Thanked 5,578 Times in 1,419 Posts
Join Date: Oct 2006
Age: 36
Tutorial: Configuration of Network on Dreambox - 13-April-2007, 15:09

To make connection between your PC and Dreambox you need to make some changes on both sides. To configure Network on Dreambox, go on Setup > Expert setup > Communication setup . For IP of your dreambox put this IP : 10.0.0.2 , Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0 ( Same as on PC ) , Nameserver: 10.0.0.1 , Default Gateway: 10.0.0.1 .

Now you have to go in Control Panel of your PC, Network Connections, and to put ip for your network adapter 10.0.0.1 and Same NameServer and Gateway. This is principe for Direct connection between PC and Dream, and for this type of connection you need to have crossower cable for network, but if network going trough router or switch, you can use standard network cable
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to Bacteria For This Useful Post:
159159 (11-March-2008), 2F4U (25-September-2008), Arkura (21-January-2008), bazzeruk (23-January-2010), Camar (18-January-2008), celast (29-August-2009), ckumsal (26-June-2010), cpo312 (27-February-2011), crnair (25-April-2009), dacianfh (22-December-2008), diepasvi (27-June-2010), dreamboy (11-October-2007), fo2000 (16-August-2009), gagy (15-April-2009), hans mulle (01-May-2009), Heckmeister (25-September-2009), hgla (10-April-2008), ivanfox (09-August-2008), izruk (08-February-2012), jayko (18-March-2008), julianp (11-March-2010), kamilou1970 (18-January-2011), kaputa (06-November-2007), manxspud (04-October-2009), momie (02-January-2010), montrougien (15-October-2008), Nagra (21-January-2008), otall (02-March-2008), pari (07-July-2007), Peeteerp (22-February-2008), Rookie (10-July-2007), SnowBall (19-January-2011), wayne_james (13-March-2010), yasi (23-February-2009)
Old
  (#2)
naish
Junior Member
 
naish's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Dec 2007
18-December-2007, 17:16

How i can make a connection between dreambox and dreambox in local home network?
thanks for the reply.
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
Devilfish
Junior Member
 
Devilfish's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 9

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 21
Magic: 3 / 667
Experience: 86%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 7 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
18-January-2008, 07:31

If you want to connect your dreambox to your local network, you can do so by connecting it to your wireless router or switch.

Most modern routers will accept a standard ethernet cable or a crossover ethernet cable so it doesn't really matter.

You can connect it to any of the available ports on the router.

In the 'Communication Setup' page on your dreambox, you will need to alter the 'default gateway' section. In here, you need to enter the ip address of your router/switch. This is usually 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1 depending on the make of router. Whichever ip address you use to access the web interface of your router, that's the one you enter into the 'default gateway' section.

Your router is now effectively a gateway to the internet.

If you use a wireless ethernet bridge or wireless gaming adapter, these will have their own ip addresses. Although there is another ethernet device between the dreambox and the router, you still enter the router ip address in the default gateway section.

You will also need to change the ip address to one on the same subnet as the router. The subnet is the first 3 ranges of the ip address. So if your router ip address is 192.168.1.1, you will need to assign an ip address of 192.168.1.2-255. For the last range of the ip address you can pick any number between 2 and 255 as long as it's not already being used on your network. If you don't feel comfortable doing this, check the DHCP box and the router will assign an ip address to the dreambox automatically. The DHCP function needs to be enabled in your router settings for this to work.

Now if everything is correct, you should be able to ftp/telnet/http to the box from any PC or laptop on your network even if it's wireless.

Hope this helps. :)

Last edited by Devilfish; 20-March-2008 at 01:17..
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Devilfish For This Useful Post:
1hermit1 (01-May-2009), brunswick (14-December-2009), daveangel (08-November-2010), wayne_james (13-March-2010)
Old
  (#4)
Bigbits
Junior Member
 
Bigbits's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
21-January-2008, 12:06

I have the Dreambox connected to a PC by crossover cable to provide a LAN. The PC is then connected to the router by a wireless network. To allow the Dreambox to connect to the internet I have bridged the LAN and wireless networks which all seems to be working fine.
The trouble I'm having is that when I bridge the connections, I lose the internet connection for the PC, i.e. Google etc cannot open. If I then create a network to restore the PC to the internet, it takes away the bridge and leaves the Dreambox disconnected from the internet. Is this normal or am I missing some obvious solution?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
mark1500
Junior Member
 
mark1500's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 8
Magic: 1 / 244
Experience: 34%

Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2008
05-March-2008, 01:47

thanks for all the info on this site ,its brilll

ive got 1 question

im thinking about getting 3g usb card so i can use my laptop on the net when im away from home

so if i get a crossover cable and connect my db to my laptop and reconfig my network contections in my db i will still be able cs when im away form home (eg when im in my caravan)

looking forward to ur replys

mark
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
darkdram
Junior Member
 
darkdram's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 19
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Feb 2008
12-March-2008, 14:44

i have probl with manual network setup at my dm and the solution is the gateway (ip at my router) in my local area network the pink to my dm is ok but the dm cannot see out. i changed the gateway to my router`s ip and now is ok. thanks for tutor @Devilfish
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
fotisan
Junior Member
 
fotisan's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 19
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2008
16-March-2008, 07:38

Thanks!!
Does anyone know the routing guide to bypass the firewall of to access points and forward the pord between???
Thanks again for all the posts so far...
   
Reply With Quote
how to connect
Old
  (#8)
golub
Junior Member
 
golub's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 18

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 49
Magic: 6 / 1380
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 43
how to connect - 25-May-2008, 12:28

Hi,
I am new to sharing, and I try to connect ADSL modem (Huwai MT882) throw switch to :
1. PC
2. Dreambox 500S

Can you help me?

Greetings
   
Reply With Quote
network bridges, and sharing connections
Old
  (#9)
craig
Senior Member
 
craig's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 109

Level: 9 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 211
Magic: 36 / 5741
Experience: 45%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Red face network bridges, and sharing connections - 14-October-2008, 01:08

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilfish View Post
If you want to connect your dreambox to your local network, you can do so by connecting it to your wireless router or switch.

Most modern routers will accept a standard ethernet cable or a crossover ethernet cable so it doesn't really matter.

You can connect it to any of the available ports on the router.

In the 'Communication Setup' page on your dreambox, you will need to alter the 'default gateway' section. In here, you need to enter the ip address of your router/switch. This is usually 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1 depending on the make of router. Whichever ip address you use to access the web interface of your router, that's the one you enter into the 'default gateway' section.

Your router is now effectively a gateway to the internet.

If you use a wireless ethernet bridge or wireless gaming adapter, these will have their own ip addresses. Although there is another ethernet device between the dreambox and the router, you still enter the router ip address in the default gateway section.

You will also need to change the ip address to one on the same subnet as the router. The subnet is the first 3 ranges of the ip address. So if your router ip address is 192.168.1.1, you will need to assign an ip address of 192.168.1.2-255. For the last range of the ip address you can pick any number between 2 and 255 as long as it's not already being used on your network. If you don't feel comfortable doing this, check the DHCP box and the router will assign an ip address to the dreambox automatically. The DHCP function needs to be enabled in your router settings for this to work.

Now if everything is correct, you should be able to ftp/telnet/http to the box from any PC or laptop on your network even if it's wireless.

Hope this helps. :)
Hi please advise as i tried so many combinations with no sucsess,

i use my neighbours internet firstly , and i have my dreambox conected with this config--

1 dreambox connected via ethernet to my tplink router

2 my tplink router conects to my pc via ethernet cable using internet sharing,

3 my pc is connected via wifi to my neighbours router

note the wan port isnt connected to anything im only using the network ports,,

this all seems to work fine apart from i am unable to port forward i assume,, meaning people cant connect to my for a card share,

so i bought a ethernet wifi bridge or gaming adaptor , as i assume its silent connection will mean my dreambox will in theory be directly connected to my neighbours router so i can port forward correctly,?

firstly the neighbours router ip adress is 192.168.10.12 -

my tplink router is 192.168.1.1

questions??


1,should the bridge be in dhcp mode or static? ,

2.do i need to connect the network bridge directly to my dreambox or can it be plugged into the tplink router for sucsessfull port forwarding

and most importantly as i have a normal network cable from the wireless network bridge- which gives my laptop internet sucsesfully when plugged in but when i plug it to the dreambox the dbox has no internet or connectivity i think, "do i need a crossover cable?" is this why ?

and lastly can anyone post me a step by step idiot guide for this specific setup and maybee help me in testing my sharing ability,

one more note in my ccam cfg. file i only have clines flines and a server listen port 12000 line nothing else ,, do i need any other lines in there or set anything else up in the dreambox menus,

i realy hope someone can take some time to help -as me and 2 friends have been trying with no sucsess for 3 weeks now, and im getting very dishertened, thanks craig
   
Reply With Quote
hi!
Old
  (#10)
misinick
Permanent Banned
 
misinick's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 8
Magic: 1 / 229
Experience: 34%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Join Date: Sep 2008
hi! - 15-October-2008, 18:49

dreambox 500-s..how is ethetnet cccamd cardsharing
step by step...your ip:192.168.2.108 tp.link ruter!!
netmask:255. 255. 255.0
type:lan
nameserver:212.108.200.75
gateway:192.168.2.1
my card sharing upc cryptoworks no works,,,server!help!
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to misinick For This Useful Post:
dumb007 (06-January-2009), lakhvir1232002 (07-January-2011)
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox