Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Bricked 500s? at DreamBox forum; Anyone? Still thinking its bricked here atm.....

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
JDraco
Junior Member
 
JDraco's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1363
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
09-March-2009, 14:21

Anyone?
Still thinking its bricked here atm..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
morte
Guest
 
morte's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 10,804

Level: 66 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 492 / 1640
Magic: 3601 / 51144
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 4,388
Thanked 6,243 Times in 2,101 Posts
Join Date: May 2007
09-March-2009, 14:33

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDraco View Post
Right,
Got dreamup (1.3.3.4)
Got a serial cable
Got a pc with a serial port on it (wasnt easy to find)
Not got an image tho... Just gonna take a look now thru the firmware thread..

Gonna try this one..
PLi® Images website

(06-March-2009 13:47)
Right, the box is just sitting there with its green light on, remote doesnt do anything nor does the standby button on the front.
Dreamup sits there and says "Connection prepared, now switch on the dreambox!"
Umm, have done..
from what i read you dont follow to the letter what I said
1. You pull the power cord from the DM
2. Connect serial cable between DM and pc
3. launch dreamup
4. follow instructions
4.a "Connection prepared, now switch on the dreambox!"
4.b put powercord back in the dreambox
4.c flash an image
4.d wait,make coffee and drink one
4.e flashing done
4.f close dreamup
4.g pull the powercord again
4.h remove serial cable (null modem)
4.i put powercord back


Hardware: DM500S, MaximumTorodial T90
Sat positions: 4.8,13.0,19.2,28.2
Software: Pli Jade 3 with X-line Skin
CAM: Cccam 2.1.3
NOT LOOKING FOR SHARES
ECS irc Chatroom
Cccam Collection topic
http://virusscan.jotti.org/en



Use the ====>>>><<<<==== when you are happy with a post instead of replying to a post (rule #11 and gets you even banned)
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to morte For This Useful Post:
hamster08 (09-March-2009), JDraco (09-March-2009)
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#13)
HaCKaMaC
ECS Expert
 
HaCKaMaC's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 207

Level: 13 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 310
Magic: 69 / 9764
Experience: 42%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
09-March-2009, 15:01

Remember it have to be a null-modem cable. Standard serial cable is straight through pin to pin. Null-modem have wires from pin 2 to pin 3 and from pin 3 to pin 2.
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HaCKaMaC For This Useful Post:
JDraco (09-March-2009)
Old
  (#14)
JDraco
Junior Member
 
JDraco's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1363
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
09-March-2009, 17:40

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morte View Post
from what i read you dont follow to the letter what I said
1. You pull the power cord from the DM
2. Connect serial cable between DM and pc
3. launch dreamup
4. follow instructions
4.a "Connection prepared, now switch on the dreambox!"
4.b put powercord back in the dreambox
It gets that far and then does nothing else.

(09-March-2009 16:41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HaCKaMaC View Post
Remember it have to be a null-modem cable. Standard serial cable is straight through pin to pin. Null-modem have wires from pin 2 to pin 3 and from pin 3 to pin 2.
I wonder if thats it then as this is just a normal serial cable that I got with my UPS...

Last edited by JDraco; 09-March-2009 at 17:41.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
hamster08
Banned as Payserver
 
hamster08's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 877

Level: 26 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 637
Magic: 292 / 17507
Experience: 49%

Thanks: 194
Thanked 256 Times in 182 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
09-March-2009, 17:47

best to search "null modem" on a price comparision site or google and order it
try ebay to get it cheap

cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JDraco
Junior Member
 
JDraco's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1363
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
09-March-2009, 18:24

Yeah looking at the bay options now...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
anniman
Junior Member
 
anniman's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 15
Magic: 2 / 395
Experience: 60%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 44
10-March-2009, 21:37

or look here. in stock at the moment under the adsl section second from bottom
Silicon Group -> Catalouge ->*Cables
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
JDraco
Junior Member
 
JDraco's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1363
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
12-March-2009, 12:02

Right, got a cable.
Plugged it into the pc and the DM, launched dreamup, clicked connect, put the power cable back in and its still doing the same thing...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
JDraco
Junior Member
 
JDraco's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1363
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
23-March-2009, 02:35

Have tried it seems fudged..
Gonna see if I can pick up a 2nd hand unit and start again lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
JDraco
Junior Member
 
JDraco's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1363
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
25-March-2009, 14:45

tried a differnt PC and a different cable, still nothing.
Seems most of the 2nd hand units are the same as new ones by the time you've added postage.

Anyone recommend a decent place to get a legit 500s from?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
500s?, bricked


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox