Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Cannot mount NFS, help! at DreamBox forum; Trying to mount to an nfs share to an XP machine I have. I've pretty good linux experience so I'd ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Cannot mount NFS, help!
Old
  (#1)
hscbaj
Saints Fan
 
hscbaj's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 24

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 65
Magic: 8 / 1941
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
Cannot mount NFS, help! - 14-September-2008, 21:39

Trying to mount to an nfs share to an XP machine I have.

I've pretty good linux experience so I'd like to think I know what I'm doing. Ive tried firstly using dreambox menu to mount but that fails to connect, so I thought "screw it, ill do it the way I know how" and log in to the dreambox to edit the fstab. Problem is it is a "read only file system", ive tried the following
In telnet:
tried editing /etc/fstab but its "read only"
tried chmod 775 on /etc/fstab but it wont let me

Having read around a bit, downloaded DCC but that doesnt appear to mount it using that tool either but that errors with RPC: Unable to receive; errno = Connection Refused
Nfsmount failed: Bad file descriptor
and
Failed: Invalid argument

any assistance people can give greatly appreciated,
thanks
hscbaj
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
jarjartv
Donator
 
jarjartv's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 422

Level: 19 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 452
Magic: 140 / 13598
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 147
Thanked 277 Times in 128 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: earth
15-September-2008, 22:53

Hey, CIFS is better for Win and MacOS.

Cheers,
jarjar


Member of Trusted Peers
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
hscbaj
Saints Fan
 
hscbaj's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 24

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 65
Magic: 8 / 1941
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
15-September-2008, 23:31

same issues
Code:
[email protected]:/var/mnt/hdd> mount -t cifs //server/db -o  /var/mnt/hdd
Can't find //server/db in /etc/fstab
(and yes, ive edited my /etc/hosts so that 'server' points to the ip address of my server. Same issue you see, it complains that its not in my /etc/fstab, but I cannot edit my fstab
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
hscbaj
Saints Fan
 
hscbaj's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 24

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 65
Magic: 8 / 1941
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
17-September-2008, 12:37

Am I really going to have to give up? :(
Spent another evening last night trying it, the problem is fairly simple, because my fstab is readonly I cannot mount because there's no reference to the mount point in the fstab.

aagghhhh
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
johnmcmillan59
Junior Member
 
johnmcmillan59's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 20

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 55
Magic: 6 / 1789
Experience: 20%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Jan 2007
18-September-2008, 22:49

I got this working a few years ago on win2003 but it was really hard work. I had to load Microsoft services for unix (free download) onto the server and mess about with name services to get it to work. Its still runing but I tend to use CIFS instead onto my NAS200 box which works OK except for scrambling the file name.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
help!, mount, nfs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox