Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Dm500 on WLAN at DreamBox forum; I have my Dm500 connected to my router via a wireless access point as its a few rooms away from ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Dm500 on WLAN
Old
  (#1)
Fano
Member
 
Fano's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 53

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 128
Magic: 17 / 3944
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
Dm500 on WLAN - 01-March-2010, 02:02

I have my Dm500 connected to my router via a wireless access point as its a few rooms away from the router .
The connection is very solid,signal is very strong,and I have tested it streaming video over the network and its very stable.
It stays online and connected for days as expected.
However I have noticed a possible problem the last few days .

I am sharing with a few peers (CCCam 2.1.4) and the ecm times off them are good.
I was watching tv today,Sky UK mostly (hop 1) and I had no freezes or glitches all day until this evening.
I noticed the picture starting to break up ~7pm .
I wasnt sure if it was due to contention issues,or an overloaded card.
I had a couple of clients for most of the evening but I noticed that once I had no clients ~ 11,the stuttering stopped and the ecm times went back very low.
I have read a few posts on here about wireless bridges and some mentioned that they are suitable as a client but not a server.
Initially I thought the freezing was due to broadband contention issues or card overloading but now I think the access point I have might be the problem.
I am running Jade 3 with 71% var used and SQLEPG running .
I notice that the box can tend to freeze up every so often .

Anybody have any experience of running a Dreambox on a wireless lan and performance issues ?
Would switching to homeplugs solve the issue or is the issue at the router ?

Many thanks
Fano

Last edited by Fano; 01-March-2010 at 02:46..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
boknoy_ph
Super Moderator
 
boknoy_ph's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,391

Level: 39 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 96 / 964
Magic: 797 / 26320
Experience: 56%

Thanks: 140
Thanked 843 Times in 599 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: C:\Recyle Bin
01-March-2010, 07:48

1. clean up your var space, especially the logs as it fills up your dm's memory
2. wireless is affected by a LOT of factors, so the claims that it is good for client and not as server stands.
3. make a separate server, not that you are watching on the same DM as it affects the ecm time especially if you are changing a lot of channels also.


HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
Debian Squeeze with Smargos
CCcam 2.1.3
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
GuJack20
ECS Expert
 
GuJack20's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 309

Level: 16 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 385
Magic: 103 / 10366
Experience: 43%

Thanks: 91
Thanked 70 Times in 55 Posts
Join Date: Oct 2008
Age: 39
01-March-2010, 09:39

But keep in mind that if the Card is in your DM500, the wireless connection doesn't have anything to do with your ecm time. It will affect the clients ecm time and quality, not yours.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
boknoy_ph
Super Moderator
 
boknoy_ph's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,391

Level: 39 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 96 / 964
Magic: 797 / 26320
Experience: 56%

Thanks: 140
Thanked 843 Times in 599 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: C:\Recyle Bin
01-March-2010, 10:12

i misread the fact that the card is not his (hop1) and the time is 7pm where most of internet bottleneck happens.

if that card is his, i suggest using newcs and omnikey as CCcam is not at par with ECM times.


HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
Debian Squeeze with Smargos
CCcam 2.1.3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Fano
Member
 
Fano's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 53

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 128
Magic: 17 / 3944
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
01-March-2010, 14:50

Thanks for the replies guys.
The card is not mine,its on hop 1.
I have a Sky card as a local but it only has Setanta Sports at the moment.ECM when reading my own card is always low.
As I said all day yesterday ,the ecms' were fine .
I suffered breakup last night when I had 1-2 active clients but once they became inactive the freezing stopped.
I still had 4 connected clients but they werent active.
Now the question is what is causing this breakup.
My var is very tidy,I have no logs.
I dont have many plugins installed,CCCam 2.1.4 and Total Football take up most of the space plus I have a large services/bouquet list.
I do notice that when I run Sqlite for the epg on 28E it tends to slow the box down .
Perhaps this is using up valuable memory ?
I will try to get a 15m network cable and connect the dreambox directly to the router,this will tell me if the wireless adapter is the fault.
Other possibilities are memory issues and internet bottleneck .
My internet connection does degrade in the evening,it gets an A grade on pingtest.net in the day but its worse in the evening.
I am talking to my ISP about this.
Perhaps CCCam 2.1.3 might be more stable ?
I will see how it performs this evening and get a better idea.

Last edited by Fano; 01-March-2010 at 15:17..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Fano
Member
 
Fano's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 53

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 128
Magic: 17 / 3944
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
04-March-2010, 01:26

I made a few minor changes to my router settings and that seems to have sorted the problem.
Connection over wlan is rock solid and seems to be serving peers just fine.
I'll monitor it over the next few weeks just to be safe.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
boknoy_ph
Super Moderator
 
boknoy_ph's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,391

Level: 39 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 96 / 964
Magic: 797 / 26320
Experience: 56%

Thanks: 140
Thanked 843 Times in 599 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: C:\Recyle Bin
04-March-2010, 05:34

you can only tweak so much in your config but won't do anything permanent.

card -> server -> you -> your peers.

that's quite some hops to travel.


HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
Debian Squeeze with Smargos
CCcam 2.1.3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Fano
Member
 
Fano's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 53

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 128
Magic: 17 / 3944
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
04-March-2010, 15:31

Quote:
Originally Posted by boknoy_ph View Post
you can only tweak so much in your config but won't do anything permanent.

card -> server -> you -> your peers.

that's quite some hops to travel.
Are you saying that the wifi is increasing the number of hops ?
I am getting very low ecm times on remote Sky UK cards now ~ 0.150.
Would you recommend I switch to homeplugs ?

Last edited by Fano; 04-March-2010 at 15:37..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dm500, wlan


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox