Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, DM800 remote not working anymore at DreamBox forum; A few weeks ago my remote stopped working for a few hours, then started working again. I thought nothing of ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
DM800 remote not working anymore
Old
  (#1)
voodoodoll
ECS Expert
 
voodoodoll's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 364

Level: 17 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 419
Magic: 121 / 12615
Experience: 79%

Thanks: 139
Thanked 89 Times in 58 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2007
DM800 remote not working anymore - 03-June-2012, 23:05

A few weeks ago my remote stopped working for a few hours, then started working again. I thought nothing of this since it happened before and I know the DM800 (no clone) is kind of sensitive when it comes to the IR.

Anyway, the day after I couldn't get it to do anything. So I did the 1st thing that you should do: check the batteries. Nothing wrong. Then I thought maybe the flash was faulty so I reflashed my box, still nothing. Checked some other IR receivers, taped them off etc: nothing. All of a sudden a few days later my remote started working again without dropping out.

About a week later the same problem arose. First stopped working for a few hours, then again for a longer period. Still in that "longer" period right now. I can't get it to do anything and using the WebIF is very annoying and slows the box down too.

For those that made it all the way through my text: did anyone have this problem before? If yes, how did you fix it? Maybe reset the IR on the remote or the box? I've read to open up the box, take off the front panel and there's supposedly a bit of plastic infront of the IR. But since it would be such a weird coincidence this is the problem all of a sudden I haven't really tried and I can't see any plastic infront of the IR. I'm not big on technical stuff so please don't suggest soldering stuff... I'd be better off buying another box then

I'm close to throwing the remote against the wall and the DM in the trash
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
c22net
Donator
 
c22net's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 186

Level: 12 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 292
Magic: 62 / 6626
Experience: 68%

Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 53 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2010
04-June-2012, 13:27

i had a couple of problems with remotes of dm800 clones, remote control of theese boxes can be fully disassembled into parts, and sometimes it helps to clear every single component by water or alcohol (PCB)
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
donegalvolvo
CS experimenter
 
donegalvolvo's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 37

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 96
Magic: 12 / 2223
Experience: 85%

Thanks: 27
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
04-June-2012, 15:21

You can test any infra red device by looking at it through a digital camera or your phone's camera. When looking at your camera screen press a button on the remote and you should be able to see the blue/white light on your screen. If you see the light then you know at lease the remote is transmitting something and the problem may be the box. Or if you see no light then the remote is likely the culprit and you may need to order a new one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
voodoodoll
ECS Expert
 
voodoodoll's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 364

Level: 17 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 419
Magic: 121 / 12615
Experience: 79%

Thanks: 139
Thanked 89 Times in 58 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2007
04-June-2012, 17:06

It is a legit DM800 and the remote itself is still working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14885
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
05-June-2012, 01:22

Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoodoll View Post
It is a legit DM800 and the remote itself is still working.
If everything is legitimate, try Dreambox or the supplier if it is still under warranty.

I'd not do anything to put it out of warranty, like swapping out IR receivers or opening the receiver for any other reason. Even if it is out of warranty, Dreambox or your supplier might give you a freebie so long as you are blameless.

Now,

1.) Have you tried a friend's Dreambox remote? Does that work?

2.) Remote's, being what they are, collect a lot of junk under the membrane, which prevents the buttons from making contact with their circuits. You can safely open your remote for cleaning. They aren't very expensive. Just try to remember how to put it back together.

3.) Finally, look at your image and web interface. You'll find that the type of remote is "selectable". If you select the wrong remote, you get limited or no functionality. You might be changing the remote's configuration files and thereby changing its key definitions without realising it.

Best of luck!

Markoni
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Markoni For This Useful Post:
voodoodoll (05-June-2012)
Old
  (#6)
voodoodoll
ECS Expert
 
voodoodoll's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 364

Level: 17 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 419
Magic: 121 / 12615
Experience: 79%

Thanks: 139
Thanked 89 Times in 58 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2007
05-June-2012, 02:01

It's out of warranty and the store says it can't help. So that's that :( I don't feel like sending my box to Dream in Germany. That would mean weeks without any TV.

1. I have tried the remote from a DM500. Doesn't work either. I don't have a friend in close proximity with a DM800 :(
2. That's something I could try but since the other remote from the 500 isn't working either I don't think that's it.
3. Looked at that, can't find anything. I might need to try another image. Which one(s) have that function?

Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
masterof911
Permanent Banned
 
masterof911's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 139

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 246
Magic: 46 / 6045
Experience: 84%

Thanks: 10
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ..Earth..
05-June-2012, 08:38

If u have some kind of smartphone u can try something like this h..p://www.appstorehq.com/dreamboxremote-iphone-26260/app

I belive there are also some free apps. I think there are some apps for android smartphones...

Know it is not much, but it can help u watch until u sort this problem out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
voodoodoll
ECS Expert
 
voodoodoll's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 364

Level: 17 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 419
Magic: 121 / 12615
Experience: 79%

Thanks: 139
Thanked 89 Times in 58 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2007
05-June-2012, 17:35

Sadly I don't have any Apple product or Android phone. I've already searched for this too..

Last night my remote briefly worked again. Right now nothing anymore.
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to voodoodoll For This Useful Post:
sackgirlo (22-July-2012)
Old
  (#9)
WaferJo
Junior Member
 
WaferJo's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 2
Magic: 1 / 77
Experience: 10%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2008
03-March-2013, 23:14

Quote:
Originally Posted by voodoodoll View Post
Sadly I don't have any Apple product or Android phone. I've already searched for this too..

Last night my remote briefly worked again. Right now nothing anymore.
Open the remote control. Look at the components. Probably there is component with a bad connection. These need to solder again. Usually it is the IR LED and the battery terminals.

WaferJo.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox