Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, DMM500S, Real or Copy at DreamBox forum; I was sold a clone believing it was an original (I was a beginner). By the time I got wise ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
Alfie
Guest
 
Alfie's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%



Warn: (0%)
30-August-2007, 23:14

I was sold a clone believing it was an original (I was a beginner). By the time I got wise and found out that I was misled, I realized that my fake 500 never let me down and does work as expected, I am expecting and demanding a lot from the box and it does all the tasks I have it do without a glitch. I guess the clone is just as good as the real deal, but it is and stays a copyright infringment.
   
Old
  (#12)
TMF9
Guest
 
TMF9's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%



Warn: (0%)
22-September-2007, 15:05

Thats the same here I was a newbie at the time and fallen for the trick.

But im not bothered it works just fine!
   
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#13)
lucida
Junior Member
 
lucida's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 5
Magic: 1 / 165
Experience: 21%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007


16-October-2007, 20:31

I have just one problem sometimes to time it freezes during the night when i'm watching a movie i have the dream 500 fake one
can some one advice me anything? thanks in advance
Lucida
   
Old
  (#14)
arcazon
Junior Member
 
arcazon's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007


28-October-2007, 00:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by zalman View Post
Very good box!

THX
also have 3 clone 500s. Work like a dream. very good
   
Old
  (#15)
wetcoat
Junior Member
 
wetcoat's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 13

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 34
Magic: 4 / 1000
Experience: 38%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgium


31-January-2008, 10:54

I have a fake one.I paid 125 euros,and bought 6 for my friends. They are all happy.Tuner is gr8. Only problem is the mac address.The whole batch bears the same mac add.So it is better to buy from different sources to find different mac addresses.
   
Old
  (#16)
spitz
Member
 
spitz's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 39

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 100
Magic: 13 / 2950
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 15
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: AT


31-January-2008, 11:04

This could cost you a lot of money here in europe.
If you are caught buying clones violating licenses it could get you in trouble with customs/police.
   
DMM 500S, Real or copy.
Old
  (#17)
wetcoat
Junior Member
 
wetcoat's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 13

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 34
Magic: 4 / 1000
Experience: 38%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgium


Smile DMM 500S, Real or copy. - 31-January-2008, 21:05

They are sold as the original one's the shopkeeper never says it is a fake.They gave even a guarantee for 1 year I bought thinking that it was a gr8 deal. Later on checking on the official site found that it was a fake one.
But it is working fine.
   
Old
  (#18)
strat
Junior Member
 
strat's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 15
Magic: 2 / 450
Experience: 60%

Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2007


02-February-2008, 11:59

Allot of false information about MAC issues and dreamboxes.

Even original dreamboxes had the MAC issue problem not only the cloned/fake dreamboxes.

To get around the MAC problem its a very simple task.

create a file called init.txt on your PC then in this file enter this line:

Quote:
ifconfig eth0 down; ifconfig eth0 hw ether 00:09:23:41:91:E1; ifconfig eth0 up

Now edit the text above that is in red for each dreambox and FTP the following file to /var/etc

Once uploaded edit the file and remove the .txt extension and leave it as "init"

Reboot the dreambox and MAC address will be changed as the one listed in the init file.

Last edited by strat; 02-February-2008 at 12:01..
   
Old
  (#19)
skygate
Junior Member
 
skygate's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 5
Magic: 1 / 155
Experience: 21%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2008


23-April-2008, 13:31

Not all clones are equal.

Some of the clones are excellent - virtually better than the orig DM500's

Things to be aware ...

1. Make sure the tuner is ALPs - the clones with this tuner are the better quality
2. The remote control buttons on good clone has a good tactile feel - bad clone remotes have tacky feel.
3. Front pannel is darker - almost black and is not painted but injected color in plastic.
4. The finish on the 'box' is good - no marks or scratches
5. The card reader socket has a retractable landing pins - as the orig DM

Now - I know its difficult to 'see' all of the above if you are buying via internent - but in case you do see a clone in real life - these are some of the tings to look for.

Having said this - there is still no guarantee that if your clone is not exactly as stated above it will be 'bad' - very unlikely as all of the mainboards come from identical source and they are indeed very good now that the revisions have reached maturity. As long as its a recent revision 06 or above - then you will be very happy.

My DM has been running 24/7 and not failed - I am using Pli 2008 image with an external phoenix running newcs server ans CCcam as client

For the price - the DM500s clone is good value. But even if you wanted an original new DM500 - that's not possible as DM has ceased production of these units.

Hope the above information is useful
   
Old
  (#20)
ljaljo
Member
 
ljaljo's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 48

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 118
Magic: 16 / 3528
Experience: 75%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Oct 2007


24-April-2008, 02:14

in DB500 clone tuner is much more bether than in original, everyone who had bought original 500 before knew how many problems had with tuner (joke that goes around about that is : you have less chinese copys of 500's on market than originals with tuner problem :)), chineses made 500 very good and cheap and DMM want to earn with same chinese pieces by saleing "bether original" and hologram , lol but thats not true , parts in both are the same (chinese), just difference in color lol , compare if your dreambox is red or yellow, is this part from plastic of metal ,not how it works = funny :) DB500S copy is same even bether from "originals" with chinese parts and my vote for sure goes to the one who brings it cheaper, business is business , why we should pay double to someone who terrorise people by destroying their property (even ilegal) just for an hologram or MAC that you can exchange....
   
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox