Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Dreambox Sat Sharing to a Cable based box - possible? at DreamBox forum; Hi, I'm only 2 week in to my Dreambox adventure (learning quick), but not sure if this is a stupid ...

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Dreambox Sat Sharing to a Cable based box - possible?
Old
  (#1)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3245
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
Dreambox Sat Sharing to a Cable based box - possible? - 12-June-2010, 14:48

Hi, I'm only 2 week in to my Dreambox adventure (learning quick), but not sure if this is a stupid question or not.

If I wanted to share a my Sky UK sattelite card with another dreambox which is connected to a Virgn cable input (as oppose to another sat dish), is this possible or would it be impossible due to a different encryption type?

I think Virgin have recently moved to the same encryption as sky anyway but... this has got me confused....

Hope someone can clear it up..
   
Old
  (#2)
Nanobox
Member
 
Nanobox's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 73

Level: 7 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 161
Magic: 24 / 4413
Experience: 46%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 45
12-June-2010, 14:56

Virgin & Sky are different companies altogether.

Sky Use NDS & Virgin use Nagravision.

A sky card will not open anything up on Virgin Cable.

Nano
   
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
henrikno7
Senior Member
 
henrikno7's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 142

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 249
Magic: 47 / 7534
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 34
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
Thumbs up 12-June-2010, 15:17

Quote:
Originally Posted by Driver8 View Post
Hi, I'm only 2 week in to my Dreambox adventure (learning quick), but not sure if this is a stupid question or not.

If I wanted to share a my Sky UK sattelite card with another dreambox which is connected to a Virgn cable input (as oppose to another sat dish), is this possible or would it be impossible due to a different encryption type?

I think Virgin have recently moved to the same encryption as sky anyway but... this has got me confused....

Hope someone can clear it up..
you prob wouldnt receive the virgin channels as you would be on a sateltte feed and virgin is on a cable feed,but i,m not sure if you could get a DM 500c and try the virgin card in that,but i,m no expert far from it,i just thought it may work as it would / could be set up in the same sort of way as a sky card,but as the man above replied skys on NDS and virgin are on nagra 3
   
Old
  (#4)
Driver8
Member
 
Driver8's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 64

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 147
Magic: 21 / 3245
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2010
13-June-2010, 23:11

Thanks mate, i knew both encryptions began with a 'N' anyway... gutted that I cant share with it, but not unexpected...
   
Old
  (#5)
dabs
Super Moderator
 
dabs's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3,985

Level: 47 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 116 / 1166
Magic: 1328 / 32791
Experience: 67%

Thanks: 1,668
Thanked 2,329 Times in 1,258 Posts
Join Date: May 2008
13-June-2010, 23:21

Nothing more to be said here. Thread closed.
   
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
based, cable, dreambox, possible?, sharing


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox