Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, HD streaming and recording DM800 at DreamBox forum; Hi i just got my dm800 everything works fine but when i try and stream HD channels to my pc ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
HD streaming and recording DM800
Old
  (#1)
Apache14
Member
 
Apache14's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 51

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 124
Magic: 17 / 3398
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 9
Thanked 72 Times in 13 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
HD streaming and recording DM800 - 09-June-2009, 23:17

Hi i just got my dm800 everything works fine but when i try and stream HD channels to my pc via VLC i get lots of lock ups and pixelation. Iv also got a windows mount (cfis) to record to but SD channels work fine but HD ones break up the recording (the file itself is pixelated), this is also affecting the timeshift.

When streaming or recording my 100Mb network card is at 17-22% use. I cant figer out what it is it does it on fta channels to like bbc hd as well as pay channels.

Im useing Nabilosat Black Hole 0.10

Any help would be fantastic

Apache14

(09-June-2009 22:20)
Ps . Iv got a DM7000 and that can stream BBC HD fine over my network so im 99% shure thats ok.

Last edited by Apache14; 09-June-2009 at 23:20.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
pinkel
Junior Member
 
pinkel's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 19
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
11-June-2009, 20:36

You can try streaming with dreamview this app also has a "record mode"
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14882
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
11-June-2009, 21:02

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apache14 View Post
When streaming or recording my 100Mb network card is at 17-22% use. I cant figer out what it is it does it on fta channels to like bbc hd as well as pay channels.

Im useing Nabilosat Black Hole 0.10

Any help would be fantastic

Apache14

(09-June-2009 22:20)
Ps . Iv got a DM7000 and that can stream BBC HD fine over my network so im 99% shure thats ok.
I have similar problems.

The network card in your PC is at 17-22% on a 100Mbps LAN. That doesn't mean the "onboard" NIC is the same in your DM800. You could just be exceeding DM800's capability. SD works fine, but HD needs more bandwidth.

The only way I've found to stream anything when the network threshold is reached is to first make a temporary local recording to the STB harddrive. Then you transcode this recording to a lower bitrate and stream the result. You might be able to do all of that in Nabilo web interface -I don't know. PLI will let you.

As far as time-shifting goes, I'd forget trying to use a remote mounted hard drive for that. If streaming to the mounted drive doesn't work, neither will time-shifting.

Someone once told me Samba mounts work better than CIFS, but I never saw any difference. Try that if you like.

You can also check with a CAT5 patch from your DM to your PC to remove any question of whether your router is where the trouble is.

On your PC, open a channel with VLC and check the stream bitrate in the statistics tab to find roughly when it starts pixelating. 4000Kbps is about my threshold. That's very low bitrate for an HD stream. That's probably your trouble.

DM7000's aren't HD, are they? How can you stream BBC HD with it?
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Markoni For This Useful Post:
Apache14 (12-June-2009)
Old
  (#4)
Apache14
Member
 
Apache14's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 51

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 124
Magic: 17 / 3398
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 9
Thanked 72 Times in 13 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
12-June-2009, 23:03

Nope the dm7000 cant display the BBC-HD but it can stream it fine (you have to add it manualy tho), unlike the dm800 which cant stream it. The NIC on the 800 does not limit is something more than that. as rush HD works fine but as you can see here its at a higher bitrate than sky one HD that doesnt work. And if the dm7000 can stream BBC-HD and the dm800 cant. I think its a NIC driver or how E2 handels the data stream that is the problem. Also i can recorde to any channel to a local hard drive on the dm800 and stream from that ANY hd content just fine (wich also rules out any bandwidth issuses)

Apache

(12-June-2009 22:07)
oh and also my 7000 can record the bbc-hd to my remote mount.

Last edited by Apache14; 12-June-2009 at 23:07.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14882
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
13-June-2009, 02:31

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apache14 View Post
Nope the dm7000 cant display the BBC-HD but it can stream it fine (you have to add it manualy tho)
That's interesting. I've never thought to try that. I learn something new on this board every day. So, recording HD to a file on a non-HD receiver should work, too, correct? You just answered that below. Very nice.

Quote:
unlike the dm800 which cant stream it.
Not at all, or just not as well as you want? I'm confused now.

Quote:
The NIC on the 800 does not limit is something more than that. as rush HD works fine but as you can see here its at a higher bitrate than sky one HD that doesnt work.
That I can't explain. At first I thought it was a FTV sort of channel like Zone etc. that is on SKY, but doesn't use the same encryption. But I just glanced at it. Rush TV says NDS, so I suppose that's true. I can record it, too, interestingly...just not watch it directly :-(

Rush has a higher bitrate than Sky 1. You can do anything you want with Rush, but not with Sky 1. How does your NIC driver/E2 theory explain that?

Quote:
And if the dm7000 can stream BBC-HD and the dm800 cant. I think its a NIC driver or how E2 handels the data stream that is the problem. Also i can recorde to any channel to a local hard drive on the dm800 and stream from that ANY hd content just fine (wich also rules out any bandwidth issuses)
Once the channel is recorded, all decryption and decoding has been done. It's not even trying to play the recorded channel, so streaming works. I can stream any STB recording to the PC without trouble. I just can't have something playing live on the television and then move to the PC and watch it there, too without the pixelation and freezes.

It's not bandwidth exactly. More total capacity. What I mean is the total of everything the receiver has to do to take a signal at a given bitrate, decode the stream, play it, and stream it. I'm not suggesting the receivers have a NIC that is capped at 5 or 10 Mbps. Remove any of these and the receiver has more total memory and CPU to use for the other two. As you said, the DM7000 can decode and stream BBC-HD, but it is not trying to play it because it can't.

Is your system memory at max? I don't have anything that reads CPU use. Do you?

Maybe try this:

Put a swap file on your hard drive if you haven't already.

Disable the UHF modulator if you don't need it. This is probably a drop in the bucket, but every little helps.

Stop any non-critical tasks that are taking up CPU and memory (logs, cronjobs, addons).

It sounds like you are closer to getting this to work than I will ever be with my tiny little STB supplying all the televisions via RF over coax, so let me know how it goes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Apache14
Member
 
Apache14's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 51

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 124
Magic: 17 / 3398
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 9
Thanked 72 Times in 13 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
13-June-2009, 10:52

Sorry if didnt explain enough lol.

1. The DM800 Breaks and locks up sometimes to the point where no picture can be seen just sound on BBC-HD

2.Maybe its simpaly that the box cant do all of (playback/decription/streaming/negotiationg webif) all at once i was thinking of disabeling on screen playback when streaming compleatly to reduce total load. Or that theres an inherent fault with E2 dunno.

3. Does anyone know how to switch off playback with PLI jade2. So the box would pass over the decrypted/decoaded channel straight to the pc ?

I even talked to some pli coders one said the NIC limeted things another told me the dm800 can stream 100% to other divices in HD. I relly think this i a problem that no one knows the answer to but i shall keep trying

Apache

Last edited by Apache14; 13-June-2009 at 11:03..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Apache14
Member
 
Apache14's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 51

Level: 5 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 124
Magic: 17 / 3398
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 9
Thanked 72 Times in 13 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
16-June-2009, 00:27

Iv found a partial work around (in nabilosat 0.10 as it has RAM monitering functions):-

1. change the service type to 2 (radio in dream edit) for the HD channel
2. add them to a radio buteque
3. make shure that alteranitv radio mode is on

-- This redused the RAM used while streaming from 97-99% to 88-90% allowing the box to stream hd fine --

I also changed some vlc prefs to improve stability :-

in vlc goto --> prefs -->all -->in coadec --> other --> ffmpeg --> set loop filter to all --> save

I dont understand why changing it to radio mode helps :-s it still displays the channel on the DM800 like it would in tv mode (everything works as it dows in tv mode lol)

Can anyone explain this please and mabe someon can use this for a perminant fix for HD streaming?

also recording to cifs still fails :-( so also any help with that would be apreciated too :-)
:-)

Many Thanks

Apache14

Last edited by Apache14; 16-June-2009 at 00:33..
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Apache14 For This Useful Post:
Danny73 (16-June-2009), Gozno (24-May-2010), liberator (22-April-2010), Markoni (16-June-2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
breaking, breakup, computer, dm800, recording, stream, streaming, timeshift, vlc, webif


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox