Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, How can I use dreambox 500s, after my ethernet is damaged at DreamBox forum; Hi It seems as though there is nothing to do with my ethernet port, after a lightning strike has fried ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
How can I use dreambox 500s, after my ethernet is damaged
Old
  (#1)
marin_nikolla
Junior Member
 
marin_nikolla's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 9

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 21
Magic: 3 / 502
Experience: 86%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Jan 2010
How can I use dreambox 500s, after my ethernet is damaged - 26-February-2010, 22:58

Hi

It seems as though there is nothing to do with my ethernet port, after a lightning strike has fried it.

Can anyone please tell me what other options I got (except throwing it in the garbage)

1) Can I use it with static keys? How can I input satellite keys in the dreambox through null modem cable or manually?

2) Can I use any type of ethernet to serial adapter? so that I can use my serial port to connect to internet?

Thnx a lot
   
Reply With Quote
buy new one
Old
  (#2)
ozzie86
Permanent Banned
 
ozzie86's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 13

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 34
Magic: 4 / 866
Experience: 38%

Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: May 2009
buy new one - 27-February-2010, 00:32

you need to buy a new one
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
honcho
Permanent Banned
 
honcho's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 5
Magic: 1 / 132
Experience: 21%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2009
27-February-2010, 06:32

if you have tux commander installed then you can manually edit the softcam file, if you don't have it installed then you could use dream-up and a serial cable to flash an image with it previously installed but then you would lose your cams and you have no ability for you to download...

a better option would be for someone with a dm500 to make a backup of their image with tux commander, a cam and a softcam keyfile already installed.

but you would be best off with a replacement
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honcho For This Useful Post:
marin_nikolla (27-February-2010)
Old
  (#4)
boknoy_ph
Super Moderator
 
boknoy_ph's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,391

Level: 39 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 96 / 964
Magic: 797 / 26337
Experience: 56%

Thanks: 140
Thanked 843 Times in 599 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: C:\Recyle Bin
27-February-2010, 08:31

@honcho,

make your NEXT post in the introduction section.


HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
Debian Squeeze with Smargos
CCcam 2.1.3
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
500s, damaged, dreambox, ethernet


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox