Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, How can you auto start a program on DM500? at DreamBox forum; Originally Posted by Markoni It probably does make sense. It's some small detail we haven't noticed. Would you tell me ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
mreo
Junior Member
 
mreo's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 457
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2009
16-June-2009, 06:47

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markoni View Post
It probably does make sense. It's some small detail we haven't noticed.

Would you tell me which PLi image you are using?

You're not keen to use the crontabs even if it does work, are you? I'm not either. This is now something of a mission...

-----------------
Are you using a Unix editor?
I was using PLi Jade DM500 20081003 but have since loaded PLi Jade2 DM500 20090322.

I am using the text editor that is built into DCC which I assume is a Linux editor since it works for editing other files. Just to make sure I copied a working script from the db and deleted all lines except #!/bin/sh and exit 0. Same results. I wish that somebody else could try this on a DM500 with PLi Jade and verify that I am not losing my mind.

I will use ANYTHING that works, just don't see how crontabs would work as I need this to start as soon as it powers on.
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mreo For This Useful Post:
LIPOLIPO (19-February-2012)
Old
  (#12)
Markoni
ECS Master
 
Markoni's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 499

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 491
Magic: 166 / 14885
Experience: 64%

Thanks: 40
Thanked 273 Times in 133 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2007
16-June-2009, 12:29

Does telnet ./var/etc/init do anything?

Maybe try the init without #!/bin/sh, i.e. only the command/script you want run.

I know this contradicts the PLi forum, but see here:

http://www.eurocardsharing.com/f163/...repacking-4241
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#13)
mreo
Junior Member
 
mreo's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 8

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 18
Magic: 2 / 457
Experience: 73%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2009
16-June-2009, 22:30

Success! Ended up using your suggestion to use crontab.

Used this as crontab:

Code:
* * * * * /var/bin/dish-client.sh > /dev/null
Created script named "dish-client.sh" that first checks to make sure rq-echo-client isn't already running:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if ps ax | grep -v grep | grep rq-echo-client
then
    exit 0
else
    cd /var/bin
    rq-echo-client
fi
exit 0
As for /var/etc/init, removing the #!/bin/sh did seem to work but it created another problem - rq-echo-client uses the serial port and starting this early halts the boot process entirely, probably because it assume that you are using the serial port to program the receiver.

Many thanks for your help!
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mreo For This Useful Post:
Markoni (16-June-2009)
Old
  (#14)
mrsoftw
Junior Member
 
mrsoftw's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 0
Experience: 0%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2010
24-March-2010, 05:41

Hi I have made the same mistake of writing an Init file on my dream and it does not boot, also the network its not getting initialized so I cant remove, could you tell me how you did to remove it ?

Thanks,
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
cold007
Super Moderator
 
cold007's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 9,448

Level: 63 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 314 / 1570
Magic: 3149 / 48864
Experience: 82%

Thanks: 5,191
Thanked 4,423 Times in 2,537 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: germany -unterfranken..
24-March-2010, 08:46

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsoftw View Post
Hi I have made the same mistake of writing an Init file on my dream and it does not boot, also the network its not getting initialized so I cant remove, could you tell me how you did to remove it ?

Thanks,
you forgot to

!!
...

unfortunatly...rule 5# broken,,with this quoted post..

its about time u visit the introduction section...

tutorials

when this prewarning goes ignored..warning will follow.

cold007


dreambox 8000- box with icvs images!!

remember u SPAM = i BAN

activley hunting nline stealers...!

beware...of with whom you share!!




   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
bittug
Junior Member
 
bittug's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 0
Magic: 0 / 15
Experience: 2%

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Dec 2009
22-December-2010, 18:24

i created init file in var/etc and copy and pasted in init but when i reboot it doesnt start? i had put files in /var/bin and i can telnet and start manuly?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
auto, dm500?, program, start


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox