Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, How to get audio on DM800HD ? DVI + optical ? at DreamBox forum; Hi, I've had my DM800 setup for a few weeks but without HD, just SD via scart. I do not ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
How to get audio on DM800HD ? DVI + optical ?
Old
  (#1)
parkster
Banned
 
parkster's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 135

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 241
Magic: 45 / 5943
Experience: 66%

Thanks: 66
Thanked 254 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2009
How to get audio on DM800HD ? DVI + optical ? - 14-October-2009, 22:01

Hi,

I've had my DM800 setup for a few weeks but without HD, just SD via scart. I do not have HDMI in my plasma tv, so the DVI-HDMI cable that comes with the DM doesn't help.

My TM800HD setup goes from RGB to RGB for video (3x phono), and 2x phono for audio..... straight into my plasma (3x phono for video, 2x for audio). Surprised I was when I saw that DM800HD had DVI output only!

Anyway, got a DVI-I-RGB cable and have video hooked up to my tv. However, there is no audio. I presume there is no such thing as a DVI to 5x phono (3 video, 2 audio) cable. I cannot find any.

I have identifed an optical audio output on my DM800HD but there is no optical audio input on my tv that I can see. I have a BOSE system, so I guess I could use this optical-3.5mm jack cable.

Optical Jack 3.5mm to TOS TOSLink Cable Audio Lead on eBay (end time 10-Nov-09 14:05:47 GMT)

However, ideally I would want an optical to 2x phono (red, white) to plug into my tv. Is there such a thing? I cannot find any.

Any other alternatives?

I tried plugging scart in together with DVI (thinking I could use scart just for audio, splitting with an adaptor) but scart overrides DVI.

Last edited by parkster; 14-October-2009 at 22:09..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
capepanwa
Donator
 
capepanwa's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 443

Level: 19 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 463
Magic: 147 / 11990
Experience: 53%

Thanks: 85
Thanked 200 Times in 112 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: In line of sight of *****
14-October-2009, 22:46

You can't use optical to phono what you need to do is ensure the ac3 downmix is set to ON and select ac3 default
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
parkster
Banned
 
parkster's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 135

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 241
Magic: 45 / 5943
Experience: 66%

Thanks: 66
Thanked 254 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2009
14-October-2009, 22:49

thanks, but I don't understand

Are you saying that I can get audio through the DVI-RGB cables just by changing the settings on the dreambox. If not, what cable do you suggest?

Does the optical to 3.5mm jack option work- I can plug that into a Bose system?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
aftabkhan1
Senior Member
 
aftabkhan1's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 142

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 249
Magic: 47 / 6288
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 13
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2009
14-October-2009, 22:52

if u dont haave hdmi or dvi on ur plasma ur not gonna get a hd picture
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
parkster
Banned
 
parkster's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 135

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 241
Magic: 45 / 5943
Experience: 66%

Thanks: 66
Thanked 254 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2009
14-October-2009, 22:58

I don't have DVI or HDMI input on my tv, but I can get an HD picture. I have DVI-RGB from DM to tv. My HD picture is fine, but I can't get audio !

I've set ac3downmix to yes and AC3 to default... but there is still no sound. I'm not surprised, the only input to my tv is RGB which, unless I'm wrong, is video only.

The optical audio to 3.5mm jack lead (as per that link above) will fit from dreambox to my bose system, but will it work?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
snoopy40dog
Donator
 
snoopy40dog's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 30

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 80
Magic: 10 / 1947
Experience: 22%

Thanks: 25
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Sep 2009
14-October-2009, 23:47

I have a similar prob. I have dvi on my tv and still cant get sound from my dm800hd. I have dvi to hdmi lead plugged into the hdmi/dvi on my tv. ive set ac3 downmix to on and ac3 and still no sound . What am i doing wrong pls
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
aftabkhan1
Senior Member
 
aftabkhan1's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 142

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 249
Magic: 47 / 6288
Experience: 97%

Thanks: 13
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2009
14-October-2009, 23:51

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkster View Post
I don't have DVI or HDMI input on my tv, but I can get an HD picture. I have DVI-RGB from DM to tv. My HD picture is fine, but I can't get audio !

I've set ac3downmix to yes and AC3 to default... but there is still no sound. I'm not surprised, the only input to my tv is RGB which, unless I'm wrong, is video only.

The optical audio to 3.5mm jack lead (as per that link above) will fit from dreambox to my bose system, but will it work?
i dont know about ur audio problem but the way u have setup ur tv u will get a pic but it will not be hd quality
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
parkster
Banned
 
parkster's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 135

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 241
Magic: 45 / 5943
Experience: 66%

Thanks: 66
Thanked 254 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2009
14-October-2009, 23:58

Quote:
Originally Posted by aftabkhan1 View Post
i dont know about ur audio problem but the way u have setup ur tv u will get a pic but it will not be hd quality
No offence, but you don't know what you're talking about. Like I said, I do have HD picture using the DVI-RGB cable! My problem is getting audio.

Ever seen 1 yellow phonojack input for video (with RCA red and whites for audio)? The single yellow cable would give you SD. However, I have 3x phonojack input for picture only.... Red, Green, Blue (RGB). There are 2 more inputs for audio, so HD requires 5 phonojacks in total.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
forko
Donator
 
forko's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 178

Level: 12 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 284
Magic: 59 / 8870
Experience: 39%

Thanks: 210
Thanked 81 Times in 51 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Naboo
14-October-2009, 23:59

You can get the hd picture, but via dvi-rgb cable the picture is downscaled. still good but not hd. the dvi itself is simply digital rgb signal and it doesn't have ac3 output. Use the audio from the scart (analogue) or the s/pdif (for ac3).


-----------------------------------------
DM 8000HD / Newnigma / Oscam
Skylink
-----------------------------------------

Member of: Trusted Peers Group
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to forko For This Useful Post:
parkster (15-October-2009)
Old
  (#10)
parkster
Banned
 
parkster's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 135

Level: 10 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 241
Magic: 45 / 5943
Experience: 66%

Thanks: 66
Thanked 254 Times in 17 Posts
Join Date: Jul 2009
15-October-2009, 00:04

Quote:
Originally Posted by forko View Post
You can get the hd picture, but via dvi-rgb cable the picture is downscaled. still good but not hd. the dvi itself is simply digital rgb signal and it doesn't have ac3 output. Use the audio from the scart (analogue) or the s/pdif (for ac3).
Ignoring the video issue, I cannot seem to get audio from the scart because when I put the scart in it interferes with the DVI connection. Scart overrides it and causes me to lose DVI output completely until I pull the scart out.

What is s/pdif (for ac3) ?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
audio, dm800hd, optical


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox