Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Limiting bandwidth on Dreambox possible.? at DreamBox forum; Is it possible to Limit upload bandwidth on a Dreambox.? I'm using a DSL line with 1mbt upload and i'm ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Limiting bandwidth on Dreambox possible.?
Old
  (#1)
neo_atomic
Permanent Banned
 
neo_atomic's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 12

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 31
Magic: 4 / 1015
Experience: 25%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
Limiting bandwidth on Dreambox possible.? - 08-February-2012, 23:32

Is it possible to Limit upload bandwidth on a Dreambox.?
I'm using a DSL line with 1mbt upload and i'm getting regularly high upload spikes from my dreambox.
This is coursing problems when playing online games (BF3) as the game freezes for a breef moment.

Is there a plug-in for the dreambox to set a max of upload bandwidth.?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
karolina
ECS Master
 
karolina's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,915

Level: 36 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 88 / 883
Magic: 638 / 24906
Experience: 35%

Thanks: 59
Thanked 847 Times in 523 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2008
08-February-2012, 23:38

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_atomic View Post
Is it possible to Limit upload bandwidth on a Dreambox.?
I'm using a DSL line with 1mbt upload and i'm getting regularly high upload spikes from my dreambox.
This is coursing problems when playing online games (BF3) as the game freezes for a breef moment.

Is there a plug-in for the dreambox to set a max of upload bandwidth.?
1} Im never see plugin to made this; but good routers have thsi posibile but i think will be very hard setup this.
2} Beter way is setup Fline to have smoller trafic this is very easy made; if you no know how please write .....
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
freedream22
ECS Master
 
freedream22's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 671

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 564
Magic: 223 / 14462
Experience: 58%

Thanks: 49
Thanked 185 Times in 135 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 29
09-February-2012, 16:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_atomic View Post
Is it possible to Limit upload bandwidth on a Dreambox.?
I'm using a DSL line with 1mbt upload and i'm getting regularly high upload spikes from my dreambox.
This is coursing problems when playing online games (BF3) as the game freezes for a breef moment.

Is there a plug-in for the dreambox to set a max of upload bandwidth.?
I found strange and it is not normal that you have spikes in upload coming from dbox. It might happen only if you stream any channel to the internet ,is that true? Even having that you need more bandwidth for playing online games. 1Mbps looks very low. To limit bandwidth you have to install an image having a kernel to 2.3.x release which I think has the capability in IPTABLES for QoS.
It might be difficult I think since the image does not have the full linux kernel as it is for PC(or you have to recompile). The fast and easy way is to buy and install a router with QoS.
Cheers!


to share, or not to share, that's the question

Do not exchange lines with PM ! Use secure email instead.

h**p://www.eurocardsharing.com/f183/admin-please-implement-ssl-345685
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
whynotshare
Feedhunter
 
whynotshare's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 190

Level: 12 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 295
Magic: 63 / 8460
Experience: 83%

Thanks: 75
Thanked 97 Times in 54 Posts
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: clarke zone
11-February-2012, 11:00

i had before years on a dm500 (clone) tha same problem ..after research i find out that the network adapter from the dreambox was defect

i fixed the problem by changing 2 capacitors on the main board of the dm 500

check this

http://www.mediafire.com/?3l5pfc55biln3tb
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
freedream22
ECS Master
 
freedream22's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 671

Level: 23 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 564
Magic: 223 / 14462
Experience: 58%

Thanks: 49
Thanked 185 Times in 135 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 29
11-February-2012, 16:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by freedream22 View Post
I found strange and it is not normal that you have spikes in upload coming from dbox. It might happen only if you stream any channel to the internet ,is that true? Even having that you need more bandwidth for playing online games. 1Mbps looks very low. To limit bandwidth you have to install an image having a kernel to 2.3.x release which I think has the capability in IPTABLES for QoS.
It might be difficult I think since the image does not have the full linux kernel as it is for PC(or you have to recompile). The fast and easy way is to buy and install a router with QoS.
Cheers!
Just a fix to my statement. The kernel to which I was referred is 2.6.3 and not 2.3. I mixed it with cccam version :) Stupid!


to share, or not to share, that's the question

Do not exchange lines with PM ! Use secure email instead.

h**p://www.eurocardsharing.com/f183/admin-please-implement-ssl-345685
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bandwidth, dreambox, limiting, possible.?


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox