Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Need info please on a router that can be used on both dialup and broadband connection at DreamBox forum; Can anyone suggest a good make, URL where to buy, that has all the requirements for GBOX, good firewall, port-forwarding, ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Need info please on a router that can be used on both dialup and broadband connection
Old
  (#1)
tore56789
Junior Member
 
tore56789's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 15

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 40
Magic: 5 / 1252
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
Need info please on a router that can be used on both dialup and broadband connection - 03-June-2007, 16:50

Can anyone suggest a good make, URL where to buy, that has all the requirements for GBOX, good firewall, port-forwarding, and whatever the other requirements are? (One they are using themselves) that can be used on both dial-up and broadband connection.. Really appreciate advice :)

Thanks
tore56789
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Tiggy
Banned
 
Tiggy's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 37
Magic: 4 / 1172
Experience: 50%

Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Join Date: Apr 2007
03-June-2007, 18:43

I can not understand why you would still want dial-up if you had broadband.
What country are you in and who is your ISP?
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
tore56789
Junior Member
 
tore56789's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 15

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 40
Magic: 5 / 1252
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
04-June-2007, 01:04

Sorry Tiggy, Don't have broadband, just dial-up, but it's possible I may have it soon, as a lot of progress is being made around my area with wireless broadband... but that may not be for some months
Which is why I'm looking for a router that can work with both now. Country is Ireland, but located too far away for normal broadband by telephone line

Thanks for returning to me Tiggy :)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
marvin
Special Friends
 
marvin's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 476

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 479
Magic: 158 / 15586
Experience: 19%

Thanks: 70
Thanked 170 Times in 119 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
04-June-2007, 18:06

as a wireless isp provider i can already tell you to not bother trying to cs with it. The latency for NDS (your local operator) will kill it. And you'll be unlikely to get a real ip address..

If you can find ten people within line of sight I can probably help you guys do your own thing internet wise, but it won't get you CS usage.


Gentoo Linux - Nexus-s, Linux VDR - 2 x ATSC HD cards, Hauppauge PVR 500 for analog US Cable, 3 x Hauppauge MVP's running Vomp on VDR, UK TV on IPTV.

Not a single sat dish at the moment. :-(
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox