Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Remote Connection to DM600. Protect web interface. at DreamBox forum; Hello guys, have been trying all morning to find an answer to this question and havent found anything!! Is there ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Remote Connection to DM600. Protect web interface.
Old
  (#1)
Toobig
Banned
 
Toobig's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 35

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 92
Magic: 11 / 2500
Experience: 68%

Thanks: 31
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Remote Connection to DM600. Protect web interface. - 17-September-2008, 14:23

Hello guys, have been trying all morning to find an answer to this question and havent found anything!!

Is there a way to connect to the Dreambox over the internet (for example when I am at work) so I can alter my CCcam.cfg.

I have also set up the enigma web interface but when I connect to it I can get into all the settings without having to put in a password. Is there a way to password protect the Enigma Web interface?

Have a DM600PVR with Darsktar II image.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
hscbaj
Saints Fan
 
hscbaj's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 24

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 65
Magic: 8 / 1904
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
17-September-2008, 14:51

Yes it's simple. Firstly, if you havent already, you need to associate a domain name with your home im address with something like Dyndns, just search the forum if you need to know how.

Next you need to tell your router to port forward port 22 to your dreambox local ipaddress, refer to your router manual for how to do this.

Now you can connect to your dreambox from the outside world, so which program to connect? Well if you are comfortable with working on your dreambox via the command line, then download "putty", if you prefer a web interface then try out "winscp" or you can even use "filezilla", just make sure you specify that both are connecting via "sftp".

good luck!
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
NinaHagen
Special Friends
 
NinaHagen's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,853

Level: 42 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 103 / 1031
Magic: 951 / 32491
Experience: 25%

Thanks: 2,711
Thanked 1,335 Times in 663 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
17-September-2008, 14:54

You have to set a port forwarding to your dreambox IP on your router. If you have dropbear running on box, the SSH port is 22.

Cheers,

Nina
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Toobig
Banned
 
Toobig's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 35

Level: 4 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 92
Magic: 11 / 2500
Experience: 68%

Thanks: 31
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
17-September-2008, 15:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by hscbaj View Post
Yes it's simple. Firstly, if you havent already, you need to associate a domain name with your home im address with something like Dyndns, just search the forum if you need to know how.

Next you need to tell your router to port forward port 22 to your dreambox local ipaddress, refer to your router manual for how to do this.

Now you can connect to your dreambox from the outside world, so which program to connect? Well if you are comfortable with working on your dreambox via the command line, then download "putty", if you prefer a web interface then try out "winscp" or you can even use "filezilla", just make sure you specify that both are connecting via "sftp".

good luck!
Thank you my friend. Set it all up and tried putty but the nano command wasnt recognised. So tried Windscp and that didnt work with "sftp" so selected "scp" which gave an error but then worked.

So thanks again!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
hscbaj
Saints Fan
 
hscbaj's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 24

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 65
Magic: 8 / 1904
Experience: 62%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2008
17-September-2008, 15:34

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toobig View Post
Thank you my friend. Set it all up and tried putty but the nano command wasnt recognised. So tried Windscp and that didnt work with "sftp" so selected "scp" which gave an error but then worked.

So thanks again!
Nano isnt installed on your dreambox, which is why it couldnt find it, you could always use Vi but its not easy to get to grips with (but brilliant once you are used to it :) )
Glad its all working for you tho
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
connection, dm600., interface., protect, remote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox