Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Switched DM800HD from wireless ethernet to wired but results inconsistent. at DreamBox forum; Hi Guys. Got a DM800HD running Nabilosat Blackhole v0.12 I have been running successfully using a wireless (gaming) bridge but ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Switched DM800HD from wireless ethernet to wired but results inconsistent.
Old
  (#1)
grinnders
Junior Member
 
grinnders's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 11

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 28
Magic: 3 / 530
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Jul 2011
Switched DM800HD from wireless ethernet to wired but results inconsistent. - 18-December-2011, 15:41

Hi Guys.

Got a DM800HD running Nabilosat Blackhole v0.12

I have been running successfully using a wireless (gaming) bridge but decided I wanted to use a hardwired connection for resilience, service assurance and hopefully performance.

I ran a couple of Cat5e cables from my router up to the back of the box (one for FreeSat iPlayer one for DM800HD). It was effectively 1 long cable I halved and I've terminated it at two Cat5e RJ45 sockets. I snapped in the wires (2nd time around) to match the original plugs in the back of the router. I tested both ports using a PC and can browse internet etc. The one to the Humax freesat box also works ok on iplayer.

The one to the DM800HD has a static IP address and that is recognised by the router and reconciles with the ethernet MAC address. The DM800HD certainly seems connected to the network as I can access all my shares and I have at this moment 1 active client on CCcam Info.

However if I try and access it from the browser using the IP address or DCC it times out or reports socket is not connected. I wondered if it had not accepted the static IP address and gone for a DHCP one which would explain how I could get access to services but not address the box directly. The evidence of 1 client would suggest that the port forwarding from my router to the DM static IP address must be working so I can't quite fathom it out, unless teh services on a DM800 using one of the 8 Cat5 wires not normally used in conventional browsing.

So if you're still reading this far you probably understand why I may be perplexed. I don't want to upset my shares and lose them so I want to try and get back to how it all worked seamlessly with the wireless as before but on wired.

Anyone shed any light on this?

Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
grinnders
Junior Member
 
grinnders's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 11

Level: 2 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 28
Magic: 3 / 530
Experience: 12%

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: Jul 2011
21-December-2011, 01:39

SOLVED:

The router seemed to have retained the existence of the NIC address to both the wireless bridge and the new hardwired port to the router, so it continued to work at an operational level but when trying to DCC or Browse to it, that is where the confusion appeared.

So I thought I'd post this in case any others encountered the same problem in the future.
   
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to grinnders For This Useful Post:
ebmitie (22-December-2011)
Sponsored Links
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dm800hd, ethernet, inconsistent., results, switched, wired, wireless


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox