Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > DreamBox > Chat

Chat Discussion, Using a USB HD instead of an IDE on a DM 7000 at DreamBox forum; My HDD's are getting too hot. I have almost cooked a 270GB one, and the 320GB replacement is not playing ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Using a USB HD instead of an IDE on a DM 7000
Old
  (#1)
marvin
Special Friends
 
marvin's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 476

Level: 20 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 479
Magic: 158 / 15589
Experience: 19%

Thanks: 70
Thanked 170 Times in 119 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2006
Using a USB HD instead of an IDE on a DM 7000 - 14-July-2007, 17:06

My HDD's are getting too hot. I have almost cooked a 270GB one, and the 320GB replacement is not playing nice with the DM.

I would like to use a USB 100GB laptop drive. I have gotton as far as plugging it in, creating using mknod /dev/sda and /dev/sda1 and formatting it in ext3

If I mount it as /usb and copy /hdd (I use fwpro). Is the bootmanager intelligent enough to mount /dev/sda1 instead of /dev/hda1? Can I just make a complete copy of /hdd and assume it'll work?

I have my eyes on a USB house with an integral fan which I will probably end up using if it all works. Am not sure if only having USB 1.1 is going to bottle neck the DM too much though.

Anyone else done this?


Gentoo Linux - Nexus-s, Linux VDR - 2 x ATSC HD cards, Hauppauge PVR 500 for analog US Cable, 3 x Hauppauge MVP's running Vomp on VDR, UK TV on IPTV.

Not a single sat dish at the moment. :-(
   
Reply With Quote
USB hard drive
Old
  (#2)
gavbam
Senior Member
 
gavbam's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 118

Level: 9 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 222
Magic: 39 / 6843
Experience: 89%

Thanks: 23
Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath
Age: 41
USB hard drive - 17-July-2007, 20:26

I can surely say that i spent bleeding ages trying to mount my USB hdd as I had a something different to achieve.

This is how I did mine:

First I converted the USB HDD to fat32 using partition magic, then i turned off the DB (I have a 7020) and connected the USB to the back, then I turned on the DB and then the USB HDD.
I then started up DCC and navigated to device/usb and checked it was there.

I mounted the hdd and then conifrmed it by copying a file form my desktop to the hdd and the on my DB went into "File" and selected the usb/disc and then the file name.

Hope this helps, it took me about 5hrs from scratch as I tried several configs, Including the ext3 that you talk about but that never worked like the FAT32 did.

Gavbam
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox