Eurocardsharing

Go Back   Eurocardsharing > Sharing receivers > Azbox HD > Tutorials

Tutorials Discussion, Howto mount a NFS share at Azbox HD forum; This howto describes how to mount a NFS share with a plugin script. It mounts the NFS shares to /DATA/movies ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Howto mount a NFS share
Old
  (#1)
cccam4ever
Member
 
cccam4ever's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 52

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 126
Magic: 17 / 4017
Experience: 5%

Thanks: 42
Thanked 23 Times in 10 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
Howto mount a NFS share - 05-June-2009, 01:21

This howto describes how to mount a NFS share with a plugin script.
It mounts the NFS shares to /DATA/movies /DATA/music etc
So you can select them via the menu of the AZbox.

Note: 192.168.x.xx = Ip of your NAS or server

Make a new folder in the OpenXCAS plugin directory on the Azbox:
Code:
cd /EMU/OpenXCAS
mkdir mount
cd mount
create a file in this folder with the name mount.sh with the following content:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
mount -t nfs 192.168.x.xx:/dir/to_your/video /DATA/movie -o nolock,soft,rsize=8192,wsize=8192
mount -t nfs 192.168.x.xx:/dir/to_your/music /DATA/music
Create a file called openxcas.conf in the same folder:
Code:
[module]
name = mount
daemon = mount.sh
version = 1.0
then do a:
Code:
chmod 0755 *
in the same folder to give the files execute rights.

Go up one folder into /EMU/OpenXCAS and add a line in the module.seq file called mount (a # in front of a line means the plugin is deactivated).

Then you can select the plugin in the OpenXCAS menu called mount and start it with the OK or yellow button.

You should see the new files in the Movie and Music menu entries.

Note: I do not have a Harddisk in the Azbox so I do not know if this conflicts with the existing /DATA mounts and a harddisk that you might have...


Regards
CCcam4Ever

Last edited by cccam4ever; 05-June-2009 at 12:40.. Reason: some typos
   
Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to cccam4ever For This Useful Post:
badal (28-December-2010), berber (23-February-2014), crodreamer (21-June-2009), daredevil67 (31-August-2009), huguinhohgt (06-March-2010), lizard_ago (10-June-2009), sarahofdream (28-January-2010), Smurfer (05-June-2009)
Old
  (#2)
mitrasgu
Junior Member
 
mitrasgu's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4

Level: 1 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 5
Magic: 1 / 152
Experience: 21%

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 47
25-July-2009, 10:13

Is it similar to create samba to allow to move files from a windows pc to the azbox hd?

Thank you.
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
cccam4ever
Member
 
cccam4ever's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 52

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 126
Magic: 17 / 4017
Experience: 5%

Thanks: 42
Thanked 23 Times in 10 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
26-July-2009, 01:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitrasgu View Post
Is it similar to create samba to allow to move files from a windows pc to the azbox hd?

Thank you.
The principle is the same: share your files accross the network.
But NFS works in general better with large files, there is less overhead and it works better.
Configuration is simple: 1 file on the server side, then you can mount them on the client as normal shares.

(Besides that I use both but for different scenarios)


Regards
CCcam4Ever
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
unabombr
Junior Member
 
unabombr's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1534
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 18
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2007
10-September-2009, 23:43

i can get the movie folder mounted but not the music folder.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
cccam4ever
Member
 
cccam4ever's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 52

Level: 6 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 126
Magic: 17 / 4017
Experience: 5%

Thanks: 42
Thanked 23 Times in 10 Posts
Join Date: Jan 2007
11-September-2009, 09:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by unabombr View Post
i can get the movie folder mounted but not the music folder.
If the music directory (that's the mount point) on the Azbox has files then it does not work.

Did you check the /var/log for messages or did you try to mount it manually to see the error?


Regards
CCcam4Ever
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
unabombr
Junior Member
 
unabombr's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 19

Level: 3 [♥ Bé-Yêu ♥♥ Bé-Yêu ♥]
Life: 0 / 52
Magic: 6 / 1534
Experience: 9%

Thanks: 18
Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
Join Date: Nov 2007
11-September-2009, 14:18

Quote:
Originally Posted by cccam4ever View Post
If the music directory (that's the mount point) on the Azbox has files then it does not work.

Did you check the /var/log for messages or did you try to mount it manually to see the error?
i have no hdd installed.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
azbox, mount, nfs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump



ECS on RSS ECS on Twitter ECS on Facebook ECS on Youtube
Follow us on:

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2002 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Dreambox